A Drop of Night by Stefan Bachmann

book review2

17735579

Title & Author: A Drop of Night by Stefan Bachmann

Publisher/Year: Greenwillow Books/March 15, 2016

Format: ARC Paperback

Source: Around the World ARC Tours

Other Books by Author: Stefan Bachmann – Goodreads

My Rating: N/A*

*Will post an updated rating once book is completed.

What This Book Is About

Seventeen-year-old Anouk has finally caught the break she’s been looking for—she’s been selected out of hundreds of other candidates to fly to France and help with the excavation of a vast, underground palace buried a hundred feet below the suburbs of Paris. Built in the 1780’s to hide an aristocratic family and a mad duke during the French Revolution, the palace has lain hidden and forgotten ever since. Anouk, along with several other gifted teenagers, will be the first to set foot in it in over two centuries.

Or so she thought.

But nothing is as it seems, and the teens soon find themselves embroiled in a game far more sinister, and dangerous, than they could possibly have imagined. An evil spanning centuries is waiting for them in the depths. . .

A genre-bending thriller from Stefan Bachmann for fans of The Maze Runner and Joss Whedon’s The Cabin in the Woods.

You cannot escape the palace.

You cannot guess its secrets.

(Summary from Goodreads)

  

I started reading A Drop of Night about a week or so ago. I thought it was going to be another YA thriller that would suck me in until the final page. As of now I am about only 50 pages into the book. When reading a book, I always give it the first 50 pages before I decide if I do not want to continue because I don’t like to mark a book as ‘did not finish’. I had another book waiting to be read, so I put this to the side and flew through the other.

There’s been some flashbacks to the 1780’s of when the underground palace was built. It’s hard to get into the back and forth from the 1780’s and present in the beginning and I found myself forgetting who is who when it came to the characters. The beginning also seems kind of slow and hazy. The main character Anouk clearly has issues with her family, and I’m still waiting to figure that all out.

I definitely want to power through this book and see where it leads to and how it ends. The summary reminded me a bit of 172 Hours on the Moon which made me interested in reading A Drop of Night. I will be updating this post with a rating as well as a review once I do finish the book which will hopefully be over the next couple of days, so be on the look out for that.

The Creeping by Alexandra Sirowy Blog Tour!

2

Title & Author: The Creeping by Alexandra Sirowy

Publisher/Year: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers/August 18, 2015

Genres: YA Thriller, YA Mystery, YA Horror

Other Books by Alexandra Sirowy: Debut novel!

3Summary

Romance, friendship, and dark, bone-chilling fear fill the pages of a summertime thriller in the spirit of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar ChildrenTwelve years ago Stella and Jeanie vanished while picking strawberries. Stella returned minutes later, with no memory of what happened. Jeanie was never seen or heard from again.
 
Now Stella is seventeen, and she’s over it. She’s the lucky one who survived, and sure, the case is still cloaked in mystery—and it’s her small town’s ugly legacy—but Stella is focused on the coming summer. She’s got a great best friend, a hookup with an irresistibly crooked smile, and two months of beach days stretching out before her. Then along comes a corpse, a little girl who washes up in an ancient cemetery after a mudslide, and who has red hair just like Jeanie did. Suddenly memories of that haunting day begin to return, and when Stella discovers that other red-headed girls have gone missing as well, she begins to suspect that something sinister is at work. And before the summer ends, Stella will learn the hard way that if you hunt for monsters, you will find them.
          __________________________________________________________________________
1
About the Author
Alexandra lives in a small town in Northern California. Although it’s fringed by forests and foothills like the town of Savage in THE CREEPING, it doesn’t have as many secrets (she thinks) or as dark of a history (fingers crossed). In addition to writing fiction, she loves traveling (Istanbul is her favorite), trees, lighthouses, seven layer cakes (who doesn’t?), running at dusk, music (the kind that makes your chest swell), and risky adventures. THE CREEPING is her debut novel. To learn more, visit her at alexandrasirowy.com and follow @AlexandraSirowy.
     ____________________________________________________________________________
Where to Buy
      ____________________________________________________________________________
My Thoughts on This Book
I just received my ARC in the mail of The Creeping yesterday and immediately began reading. The Creeping has been on my radar for months ever since I first saw on it on Goodreads. I love young adult thrillers/mysteries/horror novels and this seemed to fall into all of those categories. I immediately began reading this book when it came in yesterday. So far I’m sucked in and love it. It’s everything I had been expecting and more. I will post a full review on the book when I finish reading it which will hopefully be tomorrow or on Tuesday so be on the lookout for that.
4