Top Ten Tuesday 03/01/2016

top ten tuesday

Woo hoo, first Top Ten Tuesday post of 2016 and better late then never, right? I recently started posting reviews again and am hoping to post 1 per week. I recently went from ‘undecided’ as my major to ‘pre-nursing’ so college is kicking my ass right now which is why my posts have kind of been few and far between this year. I really want to try to get at least 1 review posted a week though. I also want to do a Top Ten Tuesday every now and then and I really liked this week’s topic so here it goes…

Ten Books To Read If You Are In The Mood For X

X = Summer (surprise, surprise)

1.) Twenty Boy Summer by Sarah Ockler

2.) Nantucket Blue by Leila Howland

3.) Nantucket Red by Leila Howland

4.) Moonglass by Jessi Kirby

8   7   6   9

5.) Rules of Summer by Joanna Philbin

6.) The Beach Lane Collection by Melissa de la Cruz

7.) The Summer I Turned Pretty Trilogy by Jenny Han

8.) Five Summers by Una LaMarche

10   12   13   11

9.) Riptide by Lindsey Scheibe

10.) Swept Away (Sixteenth Summer) by Michelle Dalton

14    15

There are obviously MANY more I could have included in this list. These are just some of my favorites that came to mind right away. I love love LOVE summer themed books so my Goodreads ‘Read’ list is filled with them.

(Two more I just thought of that I LOVED…

Between Us and the Moon by Rebecca Maizel

The Summer After You and Me by Jennifer Salvato Doktorski )

Between Us and the Moon by Rebecca Maizel

book review2

20807316

Title & Author: Between Us and the Moon by Rebecca Maizel

Publisher/Year: Harper Teen/2015 (June)

Genre: YA Romance, YA Contemporary

Format: Paperback

Source: Around the World ARC Tours

Other Books By Author: Infinite Days, Stolen Nights, Eternal Dawn

Rating: 5hearts

What This Book Is About

A luminous young adult novel that evokes Judy Blume’s Forever for a new generation.

Ever since Sarah was born, she’s lived in the shadow of her beautiful older sister, Scarlett. But this summer on Cape Cod, she’s determined to finally grow up. Then she meets gorgeous college boy Andrew. He sees her as the girl she wants to be. A girl who’s older than she is. A girl like Scarlett.

Before she knows what’s happened, one little lie has transformed into something real. And by the end of August, she might have to choose between falling in love, and finding herself.

Fans of Jenny Han and Stephanie Perkins are destined to fall for this story about how life and love are impossible to predict.

(Summary from Goodreads)

My Thoughts on This Book

Let me start off by saying I loved this book. I would use the word ‘loved’ more than once, but the amount of times I’d use it to express how I felt about this book would make this post so incredibly long. If you’ve been reading and following my blog for a while you know I am a total sucker for summer themed young adult books. Throw in some romance and I am completely in love. A few days before beginning Between Us and the Moon I read a not so great review on Goodreads and I am so happy I read Between Us and the Moon despite what that person wrote because I completely disagree with it.

Sarah has lived in her sister Scarlett’s shadow her whole life so when they go on their yearly summer vacation to Cape Cod, Sarah decides she is going to do ‘The Scarlett Experiement’. Sarah figures if she dresses an acts like her sister, she will easily make friends and guys will like her the way they like Scarlett. When Sarah gets the attention of an older guy, Andrew, she pretends to be older. As summer goes on and Sarah and Andrew’s relationship progresses, so does Sarah’s lie. When summer comes to an end Sarah needs to decide between falling in love or being the Sarah she is on the inside.

I immediately loved the summary and knew I was going to fall in love with the storyline, along with the characters. I wasn’t expecting to love it as much as I did.

Sarah, the main character, was pretty much a homebody in the beginning of the story. After her boyfriend/best friend breaks up with her because she “watches the world”. Once their vacation begins Sarah changes, but at the same time she doesn’t. She launches into ‘The Scarlett Experiment’, but after meeting Andrew, she still has a lot of her true features, like her love for astronomy, shine through past. Sarah not only lies about her age, but also that she is attending college, MIT to be exact, in the fall. Honestly, I don’t blame her for lying and it didn’t make me feel any differently for her character. I felt like I was easily able to relate to Sarah (other than having the same name) in many ways. I feel like we same(d) many of the same personality traits and characteristics when I was in high school. Also, let’s admit it girls, we all tell some kind of lie to a guy at least once in our life.

Andrew, a good guy with genuinely good hearted motives, is three years older than Sarah and a sophomore going to college in Boston. Him and Sarah continue to run into each other while Sarah is being a klutz and often tripping over her own feet. He finally takes the opportunity to introduce himself when he see Sarah on the beach. From there they begin a summer filled with romance. Andrew is so sweet to Sarah. He is also coping with the loss of someone close to him and dealing with the guilt he feels about it. Andrew is exactly the type of guy I personally would love to find in life. He is absolutely perfect that even the imperfections he does have just make him so much more appealing.

Of course there are several supporting characters throughout the novel that add to the storyline and without them, the book just wouldn’t have been the same. Sarah’s parents, her aunt Nancy, her Gran, Scarlett, and Scarlett’s boy for the summer Curtis just to name a few. They all were part of the story from the beginning to the end and each had something to contribute to the storyline. I really liked all of the characters, even the ones that were much harder to like than others.

Between Us and the Moon will be the absolute, perfect beach/summer book when it is published. It will make you laugh and smile and it will break your heart at times as well. At the end of the book I was so upset that it was over and I am definitely suffering a mild book hangover now. As I read Between Us and the Moon as part of a book tour and I will be mailing it out to the next reader later today, I will definitely be adding my on copy when this book hits the shelves in June. Between Us and the Moon is a book I see myself re-reading several times and I’m already looking forward to reading it for the second time. I of course would LOVE a sequel as a follow up for the next summer. I am unsure if there will be one but until then I will keep my fingers crossed!

Top Ten Tuesday 03/10/2015

top ten tuesday

So yay I am so far staying on top of my Top Ten Tuesday posts! So far I am loving my new job and it has already given me so much extra time to read so I will be posting a book review tomorrow morning. I am so happy to finally get back to reading and posting like before. Anyways Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish who create a new topic for each week. This week’s topic is, Ten Books For Readers Who Like _________. Each blogger can choose what to fill in the blank with so I am choosing…

Ten Books For Readers Who Like Young Adult Romances

1.) The Summer I Turned Pretty trilogy by Jenny Han

2.) Twenty Boy Summer by Sarah Ockler

3.) Moonglass by Jessi Kirby

4.) The Last Song by Nicholas Sparks

5821978 image 8535449 image

5.) Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater

6.) Magnolia by Kristi Cook

7.) Nantucket Blue by Leila Howland

8.) Rules of Summer by Joanna Philbin

6068551 16059149 13597696 15723152

9.) Wrong About the Guy by Claire LaZebnik *Expected Publishing Date 4/2015*

10.) Between Us and the Moon by Rebecca Maizel *Expected Publishing Date 6/2015*

2286482920807316

These are my top picks when it comes to young adult romance that I have read. Numbers 9 and 10 are not yet published and I was lucky to have a chance to read a review copy of each, but both were so good that they had to be on this list. I’ve posted a review on Wrong About the Guy and look for my review on Between Us and the Moon tomorrow morning! These are two 2015 releases you won’t want to pass up.