The Night We Said Yes by Lauren Gibaldi

book review2

Untitled-4
Title & Author: The Night We Said Yes by Lauren Gibaldi

Publisher/Year: Harper Teen/2015

Genres: YA Romance, YA Contemporary

Format: ARC Paperback

Source: ATW ARC Tours

Other Books By Author: Debut Novel!

My Rating: 4hearts

What This Book Is About

A fun, romantic read, perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen and Susane Colasanti!

Before Matt, Ella had a plan. Get over a no-good ex-boyfriend. Graduate from high school without any more distractions. Move away from Orlando, Florida, where she’s lived her entire life.

But Matt—the cute, shy, bespectacled bass player who just moved to town—was never part of that plan.

And neither was attending a party that was crashed by the cops just minutes after they arrived. Or spending an entire night saying “yes” to every crazy, fun thing they could think of.

Then Matt abruptly left town, and he broke not only Ella’s heart but those of their best friends, too. So when he shows up a year later with a plan of his own—to relive the night that brought them together—Ella isn’t sure whether Matt’s worth a second chance. Or if re-creating the past can help them create a different future.

In alternating then and now chapters, debut author Lauren Gibaldi crafts a charming, romantic story of first loves, lifelong friendships, uncovered secrets, and, ultimately, finding out how to be brave.

(Summary from Goodreads)

My Thoughts on This Book

When I first read the summary for The Night We Said Yes, I knew this was going to be a book I had to read. It was right up my alley when it comes to my favorite genre of young adult books and I loved the concept of the characters saying “yes” to everything in an entire night. I also enjoy books that show either two different perspectives or that switch back and forth between a ‘now’ and a ‘then’ because I feel like it gives the reader a better understanding of not only the story, but also the characters. Now onto the characters.

I actually liked the two main characters, Ella and Matt, a lot. I also really like Ella’s best friend Meg. Ella and Meg had an amazing friendship that was portrayed in the novel. Meg helps Ella out when she is down and Ella keeps Meg’s spirits up when she gets upset. A few chapters into the book I was already rooting for Ella and Matt to get back together. I also understood that it wasn’t going to happen right away due to what had happened between them before. As soon as Ella saw Matt again for the first time since he had left I wanted him to immediately apologize and explain why he had did what he did. I really loved the other relationship that began in the novel.

The characters really brought a lot to The Night We Said Yes and really made me fall in love with the story (and the characters too). I had a mini book hangover after I finished reading this and it took me a couple days before I could move on to another book. The only reason I gave it 4 hearts instead of 5 was that every chapter switched between ‘then’ and ‘now’, where I would have liked to see maybe a couple ‘then’ chapters in a row and then a couple ‘now’. I got confused a few times in the beginning and had to flip back to see what chapter it was. I cannot wait to purchase my own copy when The Night We Said Yes and if you enjoy young adult romance or contemporary, this is one you definitely want to add to your 2015 TBR list.

Advertisements

Top Ten Tuesday 12/02/2014

top ten tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme created and hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week they come up with a new topic for bloggers to post about and this week’s topic is, Top Ten Books I’m Looking Forward To In 2015. I have  an entire list on Goodreads dedicated to young adult books coming out in 2015. I don’t think this list necessarily has to 2015 debuts, but since I have a lot that I am looking forward to, I am going to pick my top ten from that list.

Top Ten Books I’m Looking Forward To In 2015

*in no particular order*

1.) The Devil You Know by Trish Doller                2.) All We Have Is Now by Lisa Schroeder

22929537                                    22840148

3.) The Rules by Nancy Holder & Debbie Viguie            4.) The Start of Me and You by Emery Lord

22611701                                               22429350

5.) Last Year’s Mistake by Gina Ciocca                         6.) I’ll Meet You There by Heather Demetrios

21825486                                                 21469068

7.) Scripted by Maya Rock                                                8.) Damage Done by Amanda Panitch

20922690                                                 19542831

9.) First There Was Forever by Juliana Romano                         10.) Even When You Lie to Me by Jessica Alcott

18760564                                                                   18740851

11.) The Fill-In Boyfriend by Kasie West                                    12.) We All Looked Up by Tommy Wallach

18660447                                                                18392459

13.) The Creeping by Alexandra Sirowy                                       14.) The Night We Said Yes by Lauren Gibaldi

23309610                                                                    Untitled-4

15.) What You Left Behind by Jessica Verdi                        16.) The Wrong Side of Right by Jenn Marie Thorne

20933641                                                                   17235448

Well I definitely surpassed ten books. There were just too many that I had to include on this list because I couldn’t narrow it down any further. I feel like I also only have a few genres on this list, YA romance, YA contemporary and YA thriller/mystery. I seriously cannot wait for all of these to come out and will probably preorder a few with gift cards I get for Christmas.