Cruel Summer by James Dawson

book review2

16275049

Title & Author: Cruel Summer by James Dawson

Publisher/Year: Indigo/2013

Genres: YA Thriller, YA Mystery

Format: Paperback (U.K. version)

Source: Book Depository

Other Books By Author: Say Her Name, Hollow Pike, Under My Skin, All of the Above,   Love Hurts

Rating: 5hearts

What This Book Is About

A year after Janey’s suicide, her friends reunite at a remote Spanish villa, desperate to put the past behind them. However, an unwelcome guest arrives claiming to have evidence that Jane was murdered. When she is found floating in the pool, it becomes clear one of them is a killer. Only one thing is for certain, surviving this holiday is going to be murder…

A compelling and psychological thriller – with a dash of romance.

(Summary from Goodreads)

My Thoughts on This Book

Cruel Summer has been on my TBR list for about a year now and just a couple of weeks ago I finally got the chance to read it. It proved to be even more of a page turner and was packed with more mystery and thrills than I had been expecting. I loved the alternating points of view between two of the main characters, Ryan and Alisha. It gave two sides/views of what was going on as the two had different ideas about what happened to Janey.

I really liked all of the characters and the end left me in complete and total shock. I constantly changed my mind as to who I thought killed Janey and in the end while I was completely surprised, there was a part of me that was still shocked. I was also taken off guard by who the killer was. In my opinion is was the least likely character but once the reader learns why they are seeking revenge it becomes perfectly clear and all makes sense (the motive). Each character has a different personality but together they all seemed like a fun group of friends.

Cruel Summer was a page turner that I had to keep reading to find out what was going to happen to them next. The ending wasn’t the one I was hoping for because let’s be honest we all want a happy ending, but it was perfect for the book. Cruel Summer paired with Dangerous Girls by Abigail Haas would be one hell of a pair for you to bring along on your summer vacation. Both had similarities to me but different stories and I loved them both. If you have read either Cruel Summer or Dangerous Girls I’d recommend reading the other because they are like two peas in a pod. You can’t like one and not the other. I cannot wait to read James Dawson’s other YA book I have, Say Her Name. Once I do I will post a review for that as well.

Leave a Reply

