Ruthless by Carolyn Lee Adams

book review2

untitled

Title & Author: Ruthless by Carolyn Lee Adams

Publisher/Year: Simon Pulse/July 14, 2015

Genres: YA Thriller, YA Psychological Thriller

Format: ARC eBook

Source: Publisher via Edelweiss

Other Books By Author: Debut YA Book

Rating: 5hearts

What This Book Is About

A spine-tingling debut about the ultimate game of cat-and-mouse in reverse as a teen struggles to retain hope—and her sanity—while on the run from a cunning and determined killer.

Ruth Carver has always competed like her life depends on it. Ambitious. Tough. Maybe even mean. It’s no wonder people call her Ruthless.

When she wakes up with a concussion in the bed of a moving pickup trick, she realizes she has been entered into a contest she can’t afford to lose.

At a remote, rotting cabin deep in the Blue Ridge Mountains, Ruth’s blindfold comes off and she comes face-to-face with her captor. A man who believes his mission is to punish bad girls like Ruth. A man who has done this six times before.

The other girls were never heard from again, but Ruth won’t go down easy. She escapes into the wilderness, but her hunter is close at her heels. That’s when the real battle begins. That’s when Ruth must decides just how far she’ll go in order to survive.

Back home, they called her Ruthless. They had no idea just how right they were.

(Summary from Goodreads)

My Thoughts on This Book

From the first day I saw Ruthless on Edelweiss I knew I had to get an advanced copy to read and review. After several attempts (I am quite persistent on Edelweiss when I see a book I reallyyyy want to read) I was finally granted access to download a review copy. Of course I immediately began reading it and was also immediately sucked into the story. Lately I have been on a young adult horror/thriller kick and Ruthless fit right into the thriller category and has also been one of the best I have read lately.

In the very beginning, I was just as scared, nervous, and confused as the main character, Ruth was. I have never felt so connected to a character before than I felt to Ruth. I felt like throughout the book we shared the same emotions. When she was filled with rage after finding out more about her kidnapper, so was I. When she was scared and her heart was racing so was mine. I loved that the author was able to make me feel so many emotions and really get that reaction out of me while I was reading.

About halfway through the novel I also thought to myself, “This would make an amazing episode of Criminal Minds or an amazing thriller movie”, but of course neither could do the book justice. It was interesting to see how everything came together in the end and how Carolyn Lee Adams linked the flashbacks to what was happening in the present. The storyline was original, it was thrilling, and it kept me turning (well swiping) page after page until it was finished. I of course was rooting for Ruth the entire time and was so insanely happy with the ending.

I loved how Carolyn Lee Adams decided to feature a strong female lead character. Too many times do we see women being portrayed as weak in similar situations in both movies and TV shows. It was refreshing to see a female lead character, one who was a teen, be able to fight back not only for herself but for the other victims who came before her. I wish we saw more female characters with the same drive, determination and hope that Ruth portrayed in the book. Every time she began to loose hope, she pushed herself harder reminding herself why she was doing what she was doing and who would be waiting for her when she was found. With all that being said you could say that I really liked the main character in Ruthless.

Ruthless wasn’t just a thriller but also a psychological thriller. Yes, I believe there is a difference between the two. The book wasn’t just thrilling, but it also messed with your mind a bit. When Wolfman (Jerry, what can I say I caught on to Ruth’s nickname) would tell Ruth things he had overheard her family and other girls on the farm say about her it really made you question if he was trying to break her down or not. He tried using so many mind games to control her that at times Ruth believed him and I did as well. You were also constantly thinking what was going to happen next and most of the time is was the exact opposite of what you were expecting. I loved how nothing was predictable about Ruthless, even the ending although I was satisfied with the way things ended.

For her debut young adult novel, Carolyn Lee Adams really knocks it out of the park with Ruthless. I am so happy and honored that I was able to read it and post a review for it before it is published. I hope everyone who reads this checks it out when it is published because you won’t regret it. I cannot wait to see what else comes out from Carolyn Lee Adams because I am positive they will be just as great as Ruthless.

One thought on “Ruthless by Carolyn Lee Adams

  1. Pingback: Blog Tour: Ruthless by Carolyn Lee Adams | Review + Giveaway -Katie's Book Blog

Leave a Reply

