Wrong About the Guy by Claire LaZebnik

book review2

22864829

Title & Author: Wrong About the Guy by Claire LaZebnik

Publisher/Year: HarperTeen/April 1, 2015

Genres: YA Romance, YA Contemporary

Format: Paperback

Source: Around the World ARC Tours

Other Books By Author: The Trouble with Flirting, Epic Fail, The Last Best Kiss

Rating: 5hearts

What This Book Is About

Claire LaZebnik’s latest twist on a beloved classic asks the age old question: Could the girl who knows everything be wrong about the guy?

As the stepdaughter of a TV star, Ellie Withers has it all: an amazing house in LA, a devoted friend who loved her before she even knew who Ellie’s stepfather was, and a burgeoning romance with handsome Aaron Marquand. But Ellie isn’t the kind of person who’s content with simply having it all—the people in her life have to be equally happy. And, of course, she knows exactly what they need.

When Ellie’s plans for her family, her friends, and even her love life don’t turn out the way she imagined, she begins to wonder if maybe she could stand to learn a thing or two after all. Most surprising, though, is that the perfect person to teach her is the last person she’d expect.

With her signature witty narration and swoon-worthy romance, Claire LaZebnik (the author of fan favorites Epic Fail, The Trouble with Flirting, and The Last Best Kiss) once again breathes new life into a perennially popular love story: Jane Austen’s Emma.

(Summary from Goodreads)

My Thoughts on This Book

Wow. Wrong About the Guy was exactly what I had needed after having some bad luck with books the past couple of weeks. I immediately was sucked into and loving every part of Wrong About the Guy. I flew through this book in a couple of days. It was something light, fun and cute and was very refreshing since I had been hung up on reading young adult thrillers lately. I loved the storyline although it was pretty predictable. I loved all of the main characters and the relationships between them. This was the first book by Claire LaZebnik I read and now I cannot wait to read some of her other young adult books.

I loved the main character, Ellie. She was so easy to relate to. She has just a few close friends she can really trust and she likes to see everyone around her be just as happy, if not happier, than she is. Besides being a bit controlling of situations, she was an extremely likeable character. Her best friend, Hannah, was a good friend to Ellie although a bit immature at times which occasionally got annoying, but understandable. Ellie’s tutor, George, was funny and seemed standoffish at first but I grew to like him throughout the book and was happy what had happened in the end. As for Aaron, I knew from the beginning what was going on. I’m not sure how obvious it was or if I just guessed really well, but he also was extremely arrogant at times and was the character I liked the least in the book.

Wrong About the Guy was overall a five star, amazing book. I cannot wait until it is published so I can go buy myself a copy and read it again. Until then I have plenty of time to read Claire LaZebnik’s other young adult books which I can only imagine are as great as this one. Wrong About the Guy is a book I’d recommend to anyone, especially if you need a break and want to just relax with something light and happy.

Leave a Reply

