Little Peach by Peggy Kern

book review2

22573856

Title & Author: Little Peach by Peggy Kern

Publisher/Year: Balzer & Bray/March 10, 2015

Genres: YA Contemporary

Format: Paperback

Source: Around the World ARC Tours

Other Books By Author: No Way Out, The Test

Rating: 2stars

What This Book Is About

What do you do if you’re in trouble?

When Michelle runs away from her drug-addicted mother, she has just enough money to make it to New York City, where she hopes to move in with a friend. But once she arrives at the bustling Port Authority, she is confronted with the terrifying truth: she is alone and out of options.

Then she meets Devon, a good-looking, well-dressed guy who emerges from the crowd armed with a kind smile, a place for her to stay, and eyes that seem to understand exactly how she feels.

But Devon is not what he seems to be, and soon Michelle finds herself engulfed in the world of child prostitution where he becomes her “Daddy” and she his “Little Peach.” It is a world of impossible choices, where the line between love and abuse, captor and savior, is blurred beyond recognition.

This hauntingly vivid story illustrates the human spirit’s indomitable search for home, and one girl’s struggle to survive.

(Summary from Goodreads)

My Thoughts on This Book

When I first signed up to read and review this book on an ARC tour, I thought the book was going to be longer and had expected a lot from it. I was so disappointed when I finished reading Little Peach. It was a lot shorter than I thought and I felt like I couldn’t make a connection to any of the characters because the reader never got a chance to really get to know them. I also pictured all of the characters completely different in my head because the author didn’t even describe them until a few chapters in. That didn’t really affect the story itself but it just gave me a different idea than what the author intended.

We don’t really get to know too much about Michelle herself. We know she has a mom with an addiction problem and that she leaves home for New York, but other than that there isn’t much else the reader really knows about her personally. I didn’t think she was going to be so young (14) and it kind of annoyed me the fact that she was so easily able to run away. The other two girls that live with Devon were just kind of there. We don’t know that much about them other then they’re prostitutes being pimped out by Devon.

In the end I was left with even more questions unanswered. No clue what happened to any of the characters besides Michelle. It was a pretty open ending with the reader guessing or assuming what happened to the other girls and Devon. I wish the author had let us know exactly what happened and if she had I would have given the book 3 stars instead of 2. I would have liked to see Devon get what he deserves if he even got caught.

One thought on “Little Peach by Peggy Kern

Leave a Reply

