What Waits in the Woods by Kieran Scott

book review2

22550839

Title & Author: What Waits in the Woods by Kieran Scott

Publisher/Year: Point/March 31, 2015

Genres: YA Thriller

Format: Paperback

Source: Around the World ARC Tours

Other Books By Author: He’s So/She’s So Trilogy, I Was A Non-Blonde Cheerleader Trilogy, Geek Magnet, Only Everything and more

Rating: 5hearts

What This Book Is About

It’s a beautiful, sunny day. Callie Velasquez holds hands with her boyfriend Jeremy as they follow Callie’s new BFFs Penelope and Lissa up the trail. The four friends are embarking on a camping trip — a trip that immediately goes awry. They lose their way on the trail, and encounter a charismatic stranger with questionable motives. And when Callie stumbles upon a dead body, it becomes clear that the danger that lies in the woods is deadlier than she could have ever imagined. Tensions mount and friendships are tested as these teenagers try to survive the most sinister of circumstances.

(Summary from Goodreads)

My Thoughts on This Book

What Waits in the Woods immediately went on my to be read list as soon as I saw it on Goodreads. I am a complete sucker for a good young adult thriller and couldn’t wait to see what this was about. Just from the summary I could tell there was going to be some crazy twists and Kieran Scott did not disappoint. I blew through this book in two days. Once I started reading I had to keep going because I had to know what was going to happen next. I would keep thinking I knew who the killer was or what was going to happen next and I was constantly proven wrong. I don’t know if I have ever been so mind blown as to the twist that happened in the end.

I really liked all of the characters in What Waits in the Woods. The main character, Callie, was so easy to relate to. She hadn’t been hiking or camping before but went to try to become closer to her new friends. She also seemed to be easily scared in the woods and at night. Her two new friends, Penelope and Lissa, were two polar opposites. Penelope was sweet and cared more for how Callie was adjusting to camping and hiking and would often try to get her spirits up. Lissa was harsh and brutally honest. She didn’t really give Callie or Callie’s boyfriend Jeremy any breaks. When it came to Jeremy, I had mixed feelings throughout the book but in the end I liked him. He got a lot of crap from Lissa about being the only guy on what was supposed to be their girls only trip. There was a lot of bickering and points where Jeremy was no a his best. There were a few other minor characters that were okay or not in the book long enough for me to get a good opinion on them.

Every new twist and turn had me shocked and looking forward to what was going to happen next. It wasn’t even close to being predictable and I loved that I didn’t know what was actually going on until I was reading it. Even then I couldn’t believe it. What Waits in the Woods is definitely in my top ten favorite YA thrillers. I’d recommend it to anyone who enjoys reading young adult fiction and it’s one I will be reading it again in the future.

Leave a Reply

