Finding Mr. Brightside by Jay Clark

book review2

13722318

Title & Author: Finding Mr. Brightside by Jay Clark

Publisher/Year: Henry Holt and Co./March 24, 2015

Genres: YA Contemporary, YA Romance

Format: Paperback

Source: Around the World ARC Tours

Other Books By Author: The Edumacation of Jay Baker

Rating: 3hearts

What This Book Is About

Abram and Juliette know each other. They’ve lived down the street from each other their whole lives. But they don’t really know each other—at least, not until Juliette’s mom and Abram’s dad have a torrid affair that culminates in a deadly car crash. Sharing the same subdivision is uncomfortable, to say the least. They don’t speak.

Fast-forward to the neighborhood pharmacy, a few months later. Abram decides to say hello. Then he decides to invite her to Taco Bell. To her surprise as well as his, she agrees. And the real love story begins.

(Summary from Goodreads)

My Thoughts on This Book

 When I began reading Finding Mr. Brightside, I had really high expectations. It seemed like many other books I have read and loved before, so I imagined I’d love this one as well. While it was a good book, it wasn’t one of my favorites I have read this year. I felt like the plot line itself was very unrealistic therefore making it difficult to actually enjoy what I was reading and relate to the characters. The reasoning and emotions of the characters at some point just made me stop and think, “wait what?!”. I know for a fact that if my father was having an affair, my mom would NOT want me associating or befriending my father’s mistress’ son, much less starting a relationship with him. I wouldn’t even want anything to do with him so that right away was a turn off.

The main characters, Juliette and Abram, are high school students, but both seem to be in way over their heads. Juliette’s dad has completely shut down and she is now acting as the parent while still attending school. Abram’s mom on the other hand just seems way too over eager to have her son become friends with Juliette. The characters at one point take a trip, a 6 hour drive, to Abram’s family’s beach house during a school week. I wouldn’t have ever even thought to ask my parents in high school if I could go to the beach for a long weekend with my boyfriend. Never would have happened.

Their relationship was cute once I was able to look beyond the fact that their parent’s had an affair together. I just wish I had been able to relate to the book a little bit better and that it was more realistic. I also wish the book had been longer and wasn’t so quickly paced because it only took me a day to finish. I don’t mean to sound so negative, but I also want to be honest when I post a review. If Finding Mr. Brightside is on your TBR list, I’d suggest reading it.

Leave a Reply

