My Heart and Other Black Holes by Jasmine Warga

book review2

22308720

Title & Author: My Heart and Other Black Holes by Jasmine Warga

Publisher/Year: Balzer + Bray/February 10, 2015

Genres: YA Romance, YA Contemporary

Format: Paperback

Source: Around the World ARC Tours

Other Books By Author: Debut Novel

Rating: 4hearts

What This Book Is About

A stunning novel about the transformative power of love, perfect for fans of Jay Asher and Laurie Halse Anderson. Sixteen-year-old physics nerd Aysel is obsessed with plotting her own death. With a mother who can barely look at her without wincing, classmates who whisper behind her back, and a father whose violent crime rocked her small town, Aysel is ready to turn her potential energy into nothingness. There’s only one problem: she’s not sure she has the courage to do it alone. But once she discovers a website with a section called Suicide Partners, Aysel’s convinced she’s found her solution—Roman, a teenage boy who’s haunted by a family tragedy, is looking for a partner. Even though Aysel and Roman have nothing in common, they slowly start to fill in each other’s broken lives. But as their suicide pact becomes more concrete, Aysel begins to question whether she really wants to go through with it. Ultimately, she must choose between wanting to die or trying to convince Roman to live so they can discover the potential of their energy together.

(Summary from Goodreads)

My Thoughts on This Book

When I first saw My Heart and Other Black Holes on Goodreads, I wasn’t interested in reading it at all. A teenage girl going on some website to find a suicide partner, definitely not something I thought I would want to read. I am so happy I changed my mind and decided to give this book a chance because I instantly fell in love. I was expecting a brooding, depressed teenager and just not a happy, love story. Right from the first chapter I knew I was wrong. Aysel was depressed at times but she still worked hard at school and maintained a semi-normal relationship with her family members. From the beginning she didn’t seem like someone you would ever expect to commit suicide.

I really liked the main characters, Aysel and Roman. I have to say I definitely liked Aysel more than Roman though. Although Aysel tries to convince herself that she is ready to end her life, she continued to look ahead to what her future may be like. She also stayed pretty motivated at school and kept a job as well. Her relationship with her family could have been better, but it wasn’t anything horrible. Roman on the other hand was exactly what I had been expecting Aysel to be like, a brooding, depressed teenager. I can understand why he is depressed, but him and Aysel were very different. He didn’t want to think of a future and had cut off his social life months before. When the two were together though I just fell in love with the concept of “them”.

In the end I was totally rooting for Aysel when she wanted to change her mind and live her life and she wants Roman to do the same. My heart almost broke at just the thought of Roman going through with it and Aysel being left behind. I don’t want to give the ending away but I am definitely pleased with how it ended. It may have not been the perfect happily ever after, but it was a lot better than many other alternatives. I would love to see a sequel, even if it’s a novella, of what happens next.

This is a book I will be buying when it is released and rereading then as well. I would recommend it to anyone who is into young adult fiction because I feel like anyone would enjoy it. While it’s not exactly a short book, it was a quick read because I couldn’t put it down.

2 thoughts on “My Heart and Other Black Holes by Jasmine Warga

    • I’m not sure where you could read it for free now because it was published in February. If you are a book blogger you can sign up on sites like Netgalley and Edelweiss and request e-galleys there and a publish will either deny your request or approve it in exchange for a review. That is generally where I get a lot of my advanced copies of books I review.

Leave a Reply

