This Is How It Ends by Jen Nadol

book review2

20759561
Title & Author: This Is How It Ends by Jen Nadol

Publisher/Year: Simon Pulse/2014

Genres: YA Mystery, YA Paranormal, YA Romance

Format: eGalley

Source: Publisher via Edelweiss

Other Books By Author: The Mark, The Vision

Rating: 3hearts

What This Book Is About

If you could see the future, would you want to? After the disturbing visions Riley and his friends see turn out to be more than hallucinations, fate takes a dangerous twist in this dark and suspenseful page-turner.

Riley and his friends are gearing up for their senior year by spending one last night hanging out in the woods, drinking a few beers, and playing Truth or Dare. But what starts out as a good time turns sinister when they find a mysterious pair of binoculars. Those who dare to look through them see strange visions, which they brush off as hallucinations. Why else would Riley see himself in bed with his best friend’s girlfriend—a girl he’s had a secret crush on for years?

In the weeks that follow, the visions begin to come true…including a gruesome murder. One of Riley’s closest friends is now the prime suspect. But who is the murderer? Have Riley and his friends really seen the future through those mysterious binoculars? And what if they are powerless to change the course of events.

(Summary from Goodreads)

My Thoughts on This Book

This review is going to short and simple. One because I was honestly so confused towards the end. Two because I bumped it up 1 heart because I don’t have a 2 heart rating image. I was expecting a lot from This Is How It Ends and was really excited when I was approved to read an ARC. I was left disappointed and confused at the end. Overall, This Is How It Ends really had potential to be much more than it was. I felt like it was rather short, questions were definitely left unanswered, and it was lacking a lot of the thrill I had been expecting when I began reading.

I did for the most part enjoy the characters of This Is How It Ends. Some I obviously was able to tolerate more than others, but while none were exactly horrible, none of the characters really stood out either. They seemed like your typical high school students and there really wasn’t a lot of substance to them. They weren’t obnoxious or make stupid choices so that it was I will give the book a third star for the characters.

The story itself was original and no where near what I had been expecting. I felt like at the end a lot was thrown at the reader and I was left trying to piece everything together and was left thinking well what happened next? I don’t want to turn anyone away from This Is How It Ends if you’re interested in reading it. Give it a chance because just because I didn’t enjoy it doesn’t mean you won’t as well. If you read it or have read it, leave me a comment telling me your thoughts (or link to a review if you have one).

Leave a Reply

