Winterkill by Kate A. Boorman

 

book review2

20702025

Title & Author: Winterkill by Kate A. Boorman

Publisher/Year: Harry N. Abrams/2014

Genres: YA Fantasy, YA Romance

Format: Paperback

Source: Around the World ARC Tours

Other Books By Author: Debut YA Book

Rating: 3hearts

What This Book Is About

Emmeline knows she’s not supposed to explore the woods outside her settlement. The enemy that wiped out half her people lurks there, attacking at night and keeping them isolated in an unfamiliar land with merciless winters. Living with the shame of her grandmother’s insubordination, Emmeline has learned to keep her head down and her quick tongue silent.

When the settlement leader asks for her hand in marriage, it’s an opportunity for Emmeline to wash the family slate clean—even if she has eyes for another. But before she’s forced into an impossible decision, her dreams urge her into the woods, where she uncovers a path she can’t help but follow. The trail leads to a secret that someone in the village will kill to protect. Her grandmother followed the same path and paid the price. If Emmeline isn’t careful, she will be next.

(Summary from Goodreads)

My Thoughts on This Book

When I first began reading Winterkill, I was immediately reminded of the movie The Village that came out back in 2004 (M. Night Shyamalan). The whole group of people set up in a settlement in the woods with threats to scare anyone from going out and wandering in the woods was exactly like the movie (seriously watch The Village after you finishing reading this, the similarities are crazy). It was a little hard to get around that, but once I did I was able to enjoy the rest of the book. I did like the suspense that I would feel every time Emmeline wanders too far out in the woods and was constantly waiting for something horrible to happen.

When it came down to the characters, I’d say they were okay. None of the main characters were extraordinary or really stuck out. The main character Emmeline would my favorite if I had to chose one. She often disobeyed the rules of the settlement and did her own thing. Honestly if she hadn’t, there wouldn’t have been any story at all. As for the rest of the characters, I felt like they were only in a few chapters overall and I didn’t actually get to really “know” them.

Winterkill was a quick read though and it was enjoyable. It definitely contained a good amount of suspense and a bit of mystery as well. Although I do wish I was able to tell what time period this was taking place. I wasn’t sure if it was present day but because how the settlement was set up, they lacked the technology of the modern world or because of the lack of technology that meant this had taken place in the past. Either way it didn’t make or break this story, it was just something that I thought of several times while reading. Although I have my question on the time period when Winterkill takes place in, I would recommend this to people who enjoy reading YA historical fiction and YA fantasy.

Leave a Reply

