Couldn’t Finish Friday Book Review

book review2

19286527Title & Author: Feuds by Avery Hastings

Publisher/Year: St. Martin’s Griffin/2014

Genre: YA Sci-Fi, YA Romance

Format: Paperback

Source: Around the World ARC Tours

Other Books By Author: Debut YA Novel

Rating: N/A – Couldn’t Finish

What This Book Is About

In this breathless story of impossible love, perfection comes at a deadly cost.

For Davis Morrow, perfection is a daily reality. Like all Priors, Davis has spent her whole life primed to be smarter, stronger, and more graceful than the lowly Imperfects, or “Imps.” A fiercely ambitious ballerina, Davis is only a few weeks away from qualifying for the Olympiads and finally living up to her mother’s legacy when she meets Cole, a mysterious boy who leaves her with more questions each time he disappears.

Davis has no idea that Cole has his own agenda, or that he’s a rising star in the FEUDS, an underground fighting ring where Priors gamble on Imps. Cole has every reason to hate Davis—her father’s campaign hinges on the total segregation of the Imps and Priors—but despite his best efforts, Cole finds himself as drawn to Davis as she is to him.

Then Narxis, a deadly virus, takes its hold–and Davis’s friends start dying. When the Priors refuse to acknowledge the epidemic, Davis has no one to turn to but Cole. Falling in love was never part of their plan, but their love may be the only thing that can save her world…in Avery Hastings’s Feuds.

(Summary from Goodreads)

My Thoughts on This Book

Well unfortunately today marks my first ever “Couldn’t Finish Friday” post. I was really hoping I never had to do one of these but I couldn’t get very far into Feuds. I have a policy for myself that I have to read at least 50 pages or so before I give up on a book so I continued reading until I just couldn’t anymore. I’m not generally into the young adult sci-fi genre, but I liked the overall summary and thought I would like the book as well. I hate writing negative reviews, but I want/need to be honest. I also don’t want my review to sway anyone’s decision on reading Feuds.

I used to be a dancer so I was really excited that one of the main characters, Davis, was a ballerina. I wish I could have liked her and Cole, but really I couldn’t. There was just so much romance I felt like it was being shoved down my throat. I like when there is some romance in the background between the characters, but I rather read more about more action and thrills. I felt like Feuds could have been amazing and that it could have lived up to more than what it ended up being (if that makes sense). It sounded like an original plot for a young adult dystopian book and I wish I could have enjoyed it more.

Just because it wasn’t for me does not mean it’s also not for you. I’m sure there are a lot of people out there who are going to love this book (there are plenty of positive reviews on Goodreads), so if you were considering reading it, go ahead. The worst that can happen is you’ll stop like I did, but I don’t want my review to sway your overall decision of Feuds.

Leave a Reply

