Dead to Me by Mary McCoy

book review2

18460455

Title & Author: Dead to Me by Mary McCoy

Publisher/Year: Disney-Hyperion – March 3, 2015

Genres: YA Mystery, YA Thriller, YA Historical Fiction

Format: ARC Paperback

Source: Around the World ARC Tours

Other Books By Author: None; Dead to Me is Mary McCoy’s debut novel

Rating: 5hearts

What This Book Is About

LA Confidential for the YA audience. This alluring noir YA mystery with a Golden Age Hollywood backdrop will keep you guessing until the last page.

“Don’t believe anything they say.”

Those were the last words that Annie spoke to Alice before turning her back on their family and vanishing without a trace. Alice spent four years waiting and wondering when the impossibly glamorous sister she idolized would return to her–and what their Hollywood-insider parents had done to drive her away.

When Annie does turn up, the blond, broken stranger lying in a coma has no answers for her. But Alice isn’t a kid anymore, and this time she won’t let anything stand between her and the truth, no matter how ugly. The search for those who beat Annie and left her for dead leads Alice into a treacherous world of tough-talking private eyes, psychopathic movie stars, and troubled starlets–and onto the trail of a young runaway who is the sole witness to an unspeakable crime. What this girl knows could shut down a criminal syndicate and put Annie’s attacker behind bars–if Alice can find her first. And she isn’t the only one looking

Evoking classic film noir, debut novelist Mary McCoy brings the dangerous glamour of Hollywood’s Golden Age to life, where the most decadent parties can be the deadliest, and no drive into the sunset can erase the crimes of past.

(Summary from Goodreads)

My Thoughts on This Book

I finally have a new book to add to my favorite YA historical fiction list. When I read the summary of Dead to Me I had assumed it was going to take place in present day Los Angeles (didn’t really catch the “Golden Age Hollywood” part until now). I love history and learning about it, so I like reading YA historical fiction novels but can be picky when choosing to read one. I feel like not knowing that Dead to Me would take place in the 1940’s worked out in my favor. I was sucked in from the first chapter and found myself skimming paragraphs because I couldn’t wait to see what was going to happen next (I did make myself slow down and read each paragraph). The story was filled with mysteries and you never knew who was behind everything. In the end just when I thought everything had been solved and over another shocker was thrown into the mix.

The one thing I really liked about the main character Alice is that she is strong, brave and independent. I feel like strong female lead characters are slowly starting to become popular in YA books and I love it! Alice doesn’t seem to be afraid of much even when caught in tough situations. Her love for her sister is so strong even though she hadn’t seen her in four years, and she lets nothing and no one get in the way of that. She is also incredibly smart and has a lot of knowledge on many things most people nowadays don’t give a second thought to. I had fixed feelings throughout the book on many of the other characters, but by the end of the book it was clear if I liked them or not. The author sets each of them up so you never know who was a part of Annie’s crime.

After reading Dead to Me, I think I will definitely be giving more YA historical novels a chance. I usually feel like I won’t be able to relate to them, but one thing I learned about that from Dead to Me is that it doesn’t matter if I can relate to the characters or not because it doesn’t take away from the story. I loved and enjoyed the story in Dead to Me and in the end that is what mattered the most. This is Mary McCoy’s debut novel and she has certainly done an amazing job at her first novel. This book will be released on March 3, 2015. A while from now but absolutely, definitely worth the wait.

One thought on “Dead to Me by Mary McCoy

  1. Pingback: Review: Dead To Me by Mary McCoy

Leave a Reply

