I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson

book review2

image

Title & Author: I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson

Publisher/Year: Dial/2014

Genres: YA Contemporary, YA Romance

Format: ARC Paperback

Source: Around the World ARC Tours

Other Books From Author: The Sky is Everywhere

Rating: 4hearts

What This Book Is About

A brilliant, luminous story of first love, family, loss, and betrayal for fans of John Green, David Levithan, and Rainbow Rowell

Jude and her twin brother, Noah, are incredibly close. At thirteen, isolated Noah draws constantly and is falling in love with the charismatic boy next door, while daredevil Jude cliff-dives and wears red-red lipstick and does the talking for both of them. But three years later, Jude and Noah are barely speaking. Something has happened to wreck the twins in different and dramatic ways . . . until Jude meets a cocky, broken, beautiful boy, as well as someone else—an even more unpredictable new force in her life. The early years are Noah’s story to tell. The later years are Jude’s. What the twins don’t realize is that they each have only half the story, and if they could just find their way back to one another, they’d have a chance to remake their world.

This radiant novel from the acclaimed, award-winning author of The Sky Is Everywhere will leave you breathless and teary and laughing—often all at once.

(Summary from Goodreads)

My Thoughts on This Book

Wow is the first word that comes to mind when I think of this book. It was absolutely amazing and unlike any other YA book I have ever read before. When I first began reading it I will admit it took me some time to get into, which is why I gave it 4 hearts instead of 5. It wasn’t quite what I had been expecting, but once I got into the story I no longer cared. I loved how Noah told his and Jude’s story when they are 13, and then how Jude told their story when they are 16. Each chapter was long, which I loved and when it was finished I couldn’t wait to get back to Jude or Noah’s side of the story. It was almost as if I was reading two different books that had been put together to make one. The alternating between the years and characters really gave this book something special and unique.

I loved the main characters, twins Noah and Jude. I have a brother (2 years younger) and we were incredibly close growing up so I could easily relate to a lot of issues that went on between Noah and Jude as well as their friendship. I’m still not sure if I liked one character more than the other. There were times during Noah’s story where I would get frustrated with Jude, and then there were times during Jude’s story where Noah would frustrate me. I also liked the other characters that played a big part in Jude and Noah’s lives. Noah’s crush Brian had his moments where I didn’t like him, but in the end I think he was a great character. As for Jude’s crush, Oscar, I think almost every female who reads I’ll Give You the Sun will now have a crush on a fictional character. He’s the sensitive guy every girl says they want, he rides a motorcycle, and has an accent, plus the way he truly cares about Jude makes him my number one fictional character I have a crush on now.

Overall, I really, really enjoyed I’ll Give You the Sun. It was original, funny and heartbreaking and I would definitely read it again in a heartbeat. I hadn’t realized that Jandy Nelson also wrote The Sky is Everywhere until I saw the cover of this book. I purchased The Sky is Everywhere back in May and am definitely putting it at the top of my to-read pile now and I’d recommend you add I’ll Give You the Sun to the top of yours.

Leave a Reply

