Monthly Wrap Up – September 2014

monthly wrap up

For me personally, September has always been a month that just flies by and this year was no exception. This past month has been crazy with the fall semester starting back up and my professors are just giving out assignments like crazy. I was able to read a decent amount of books this month despite the craziness of all things college. I also was accepted for a huge amount of ARCs from HarperTeen this past month, so you will be seeing a good amount of ARC reviews in the weeks to come. I also apologize for not posting any reviews since Friday morning and not doing Top Ten Tuesday this week. I went to the Enrique Iglesias and Pitbull concert on Friday night and I have a concert hangover, very similar to a book hangover. It was so amazing and since Friday night I have sort of been in a trance just listening to their music over and over again. Now that the school week has started up I’m snapping out of it. (And if the concert is coming close to you I would recommend getting tickets if you like them. It was amazing and everyone was on their feet dancing the entire time.)

When I first started my blog I didn’t even know what an ARC was. When I first found out I was probably like most people and wanted many. I never intended on having my blog be mainly ARC reviews, but I apologize because lately it has. I’m not as crazy about getting as many ARCs as possible anymore. If I see some I am really interested in, I will request them though. My next five reviews will be ARCs from book tours I was on. After those five, I am going to switch back and forth between an ARC and a published book because I have a pretty big pile in my room from the library, along with about twenty books I bought over the summer that I have yet to read. I don’t want my reviews to only be ARCs because I want to be able to also post reviews on books that are currently published so if you are interested in it you can get it right away from your local library, Barnes and Noble or Amazon rather than wait a few months.

So here are the books I read (and reviewed) this month:

– 09/03/14 Death Date by Victoria Laurie 

– 09/04/14 Belzhar by Meg Wolitzer

– 09/08/14 Top Ten Clues You’re Clueless by Liz Czukas

– 09/10/14 No Place to Fall by Jaye Robin Brown

– 09/11/14 Appaloosa Summer by Tudor Robins

– 09/12/14 Ask Again Later by Liz Czukas

– 09/15/14 Easy by Tammara Webber

– 09/18/14 Tease by Amanda Maciel

– 09/21/14 The Bargaining by Carly Anne West

– 09/26/14 The Secrets We Keep by Trisha Leaver

– I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson (Review coming October)

– Dead to Me by Mary McCoy (Review coming October)

– All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven (Review coming October)

So thirteen books overall for this month isn’t too bad. I had only expected to read up to two books a week and I just under double that amount so I won’t complain. The last three books on my list I have finished between last week and the weekend. I will have reviews for the first two up this week, and a review for All the Bright Places will be posted at the beginning of next week.

Unfortunately I did not buy any books this month 😥 However, my mom did preorder a copy of…They All Fall Down by Roxanne St. Claire! I am super excited about that coming in the mail this month. It is at the top of my most anticipated YA novels of 2014 and I cannot wait to finally read it. It has been on my TBR list since this summer so now after months of waiting I will finally get to read it (as long as she doesn’t decide to hold onto it until Christmas). So, even though I didn’t buy it myself, I will count it under books bought this month.

Once I get a job, which I am actually waiting for a call back from a hospital, I will begin buying books again. Also later this month is a used book sale at my library. It lasts 3 days and there is tables and tables full of books and none are higher than $3, so hopefully they have some YA books I can buy and add to my shelves. 🙂

I guess that’s it for the month of September and I am certainly ready for October to begin. I am one of those people who cannot wait for the chilly weather, crunchy and color changing leaves, bonfires and of course Halloween. The past few days have actually been unseasonably warm so I have not been very happy about that because I would prefer it to be 65 degrees outside rather than 80.

Leave a Reply

