The Secrets We Keep by Trisha Leaver

book review2

18309670Title/Author: The Secrets We Keep by Trisha Leaver

Publisher/Year:  Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR) – April 28, 2015

Genres: YA Contemporary, YA Romance

Format: ARC Paperback

Source: Around the World ARC Tours

Other Books from Author: Creed, SILO

My Rating: 5hearts

What This Book Is About

“A girl takes over her twin sister’s identity in this emotionally charged page-turner about the complicated bond between sisters.”

Ella and Maddy Lawton are identical twins. Ella has spent her high school years living in popular Maddy’s shadows, but she has never been envious of Maddy. In fact, she’s chosen the quiet, safe confines of her sketchbook over the constant battle for attention that has defined Maddy’s world.

When—after a heated argument—Maddy and Ella get into a tragic accident that leaves her sister dead, Ella wakes up in the hospital surrounded by loved ones who believe she is Maddy. Feeling responsible for Maddy’s death and everyone’s grief, Ella makes a split-second decision to pretend to be Maddy. Soon, Ella realizes that Maddy’s life was full of secrets. Caught in a web of lies, Ella is faced with two options—confess her deception or live her sister’s life.

(Summary from Goodreads)

My Thoughts on This Book

Just by reading the summary of The Secrets We Keep, my heart broke for the main character, Ella. I could tell that not only would this be an emotional story, but it also seemed very original as well and I definitely love originality. From the minute I began reading, I was just sucked into the story. I loved absolutely everything about it from the plot line to the characters. The only single complaint I would have is that it didn’t go on forever. I loved the main characters, Ella/Ella as Maddy, Josh and Maddy’s boyfriend. I feel like a lot of other reader’s will probably have mixed feelings on Maddy’s boyfriend, but I honestly liked him. I felt like he knew the whole time Ella was pretending to be Maddy and he still was there for her and helped her through everything. As for Ella and Josh, they are perfect. My heart broke for Ella a million times throughout the book. I wanted to jump into the story and tell her that her parent’s love her as much as they loved Maddy and that she had friends who cared whether or not she survived. Ella is the kind of character I could see myself being friends with or getting along with in real life and I think that’s another reason why I really liked her. As for Josh, where is a boy like him in my life? He was such a sweetheart and so caring and just overall the ideal boyfriend. Guys around here should take some lessons from him.

I felt so much emotion when I read this book. I shed some tears when the accident happened and I got frustrated with Ella a few times when she would come up with these crazy ideas in her head that everyone loved Maddy more. I couldn’t put The Secrets We Keep down because I had to know what was going to happen and know what Ella was going to do next. I personally don’t have sister but reading this story and hearing what Ella did for Maddy, I feel like I may have done the same thing for some time before coming clean. I felt sorry for her for how guilty she felt and how she felt like she had to “be Maddy” since she felt like she was the one who killed her.

Honestly, The Secrets We Keep is just one of those amazing books that will claim a spot in your heart and you will love it. I definitely did and I will be buying my own copy and rereading it countless times when it is published. Rarely do I find a book where I loved it so much that I am almost speechless because I feel like my review could never do it justice and The Secrets We Keep is hands down one of those books. The one thing that I have to say it read The Secrets We Keep when it comes out. You’ll love it (it’s impossible not to) and thank me for it later.

2 thoughts on “The Secrets We Keep by Trisha Leaver

  1. Pingback: Monthly Wrap Up – September 2014 | Confessions of a Bookaholic

  2. Pingback: The Secrets We Keep by Trisha Leaver | Around The World ARC Tours

Leave a Reply

