September News and Updates

updates2

In September I am making a few changes to the appearance of my blog. I always had a Top Ten Tuesday banner (or whatever you’d like to call it), but it really bothered me that I didn’t have on for my book review posts. I found my TTT banner on Google because I am not very artistic or savvy when it comes to computer graphics. Anyways, as you can see I now have a banner made for updates, and I created ones for TTT, Waiting on Wednesday, book reviews, and monthly wrap-ups. I figured out how to make a simple banner using a site online and I’m pleased with them…for now. 🙂 I will be leaving the old banners on my old posts because let’s face it, it would be a total complete pain in the ass if I went back to every post and fixed it. Plus in the future I can look back and see my progress.

The second change to the appearance of my blog is for book review posts. I have been feeling like I have been hitting dead ends lately when writing my reviews. I’ve been comparing my posts to quite a few other blogs I found on Google and I am going to switch mine up a little bit. I really fell in love with the layout of reviews at the blog, The Perpetual Page-Turner. I am going to start adding the publisher, genres, and other books by that author. Most of the rest of my review will be the same like how I acquired the book, the publication date, the summary and then my actual review. I’m hoping if I set it up super clearly like the blog I mentioned earlier, readers will be able to find the book online a lot easier, especially if it hasn’t been published yet.

Now onto the news. So far I have luckily and fortunately have been able to keep up with reading and posting during the school week. So far my five courses I registered for are pretty easy. Three days a week I have Western Civilizations 1 and my professor has totally lost his marbles. On the first day of class he went off on several rants consisting of how gay marriage should be illegal, how Islam is a horrible religion, how aliens told an astronaut to fly in a spaceship to the moon, and several other non-related topics. Now he’s about 75 or so and doesn’t teach from the textbook. Apparently textbooks lie and leave out too much information. I have heard this before but his examples do not justify his choice. During the second week of class after hearing about how aliens, God, demons and angels were all the same thing, too much personal information about his political views, how giants existed and how it’s true because it was on the cover of National Geographic (he failed to look up that the article in fact was a hoax), I finally went to the Dean of Students and complained. They also knew exactly who I was talking about so why they haven’t taken any action in the past, I have no idea. The beginning of this week I brought my iPad with me, sat n my desk, propped it up on it’s stand and started reading. I read through the entire class and didn’t catch more than how mermaids are real but our government is killing them to cover it up and how the Smithsonian Museum has removed exhibits it doesn’t want the public to see and have them dropped in the middle of the Atlantic Ocean never to be found again. Seriously, how does this guy have a job teaching at a college?! And the fact that I am paying hundreds of dollars for a history class where instead I just listen to his crazy rants for 50 minutes, 3 days a week. Luckily he gives us a packet for each section and in the back there is a study guide with all the definitions and he even underlined the exact answer for the test question. I figured I’ll read the packet on my own, study the definitions and pass on my own and never take a class from him again. I’m planning on recording one of his lectures this week and attaching it to my next complaint email to the dean. I’m not quite sure if I’m legally allowed to record him without his permission, but I really don’t give a damn anymore. He’s way too insulting and offensive and really needs to retire. My other professors range from good to great. The classes also always stay on topic which is a plus since I’m spending way too much a semester to not be taught what I’m paying for. College is definitely not what I had ever expected 4 years ago during my senior year of high school.

My first *new* review will be posted on Sunday, September 21. Check it out (loved the book) and let me know if you like the new format or not. 🙂

Leave a Reply

