Easy by Tammara Webber

Easy is one of those books that has been on my TBR list for months and I just have finally gotten around to reading it. I’m in a group on Goodreads where they have a “Copycat Challenge”. Everyone is paired up with someone and you have to pick a book from their read list to read for yourself. I saw Easy on there, checked my library and decided to go for it.

Easy by Tammara Webber

How I Acquired This Book: Library Rental

4stars

16056408

When Jacqueline follows her longtime boyfriend to the college of his choice, the last thing she expects is a breakup two months into sophomore year. After two weeks in shock, she wakes up to her new reality: she’s single, attending a state university instead of a music conservatory, ignored by her former circle of friends, and failing a class for the first time in her life.

Leaving a party alone, Jacqueline is assaulted by her ex’s frat brother. Rescued by a stranger who seems to be in the right place at the right time, she wants nothing more than to forget the attack and that night – but her savior, Lucas, sits on the back row of her econ class, sketching in a notebook and staring at her. Her friends nominate him to be the perfect rebound.

When her attacker turns stalker, Jacqueline has a choice: crumple in defeat or learn to fight back. Lucas remains protective, but he’s hiding secrets of his own. Suddenly appearances are everything, and knowing who to trust is anything but easy.

(Summary from Goodreads)

I really enjoyed Easy more than I had been expecting. The only reason I didn’t give it 5/5 stars is because I hadn’t realized that it was a New Adult book. I feel like the biggest difference between YA books and NA books is that NA books contain more graphic and/or frequent sex scenes. It doesn’t bother me too much, but I just don’t see the necessity of it. Once or twice maybe, but any more than in a 300 paged book to me is a bit much. Anyhow, that is why I took 1 star away (had it been a YA book I would have done the same). I really did like the story though. It was more mature and touched on more sensitive topics than a lot of young adult books deal with. I felt like I was able to make a lot of connections as well because the main characters are all in college, just like myself.

I loved Jacqueline and Lucas, the two main characters of the story. I often got frustrated when they would be together and in a way deny their attraction and feelings for each other. They had been through some intense times together and Lucas had saved Jacqueline from being raped one night after a party. Soon though Jacqueline is also emailing a tutor for her econ class and looks forward to his responses and wonders about him quite a few times. I won’t completely give anything away, but the connection was pretty obvious to me halfway through the book.

The summary makes it seem like Jacqueline has no one besides Lucas and that he is hiding secrets (correction the summary even says that), but it is all false. Jacqueline and her roommate and another sorority girl are still close friends and it seems like those were the only two girls Jacqueline was close to even before the break up. Lucas also is in no way “hiding” secrets. These secrets are very personal information and when the reader learns what it is, it is completely understandable why he didn’t just blurt it out to Jacqueline the first time they hung out. I also don’t think that Jacqueline trusted Lucas any less after learning his secrets. Basically, don’t let the summary fool you into thinking Lucas is bad or deceptive because he definitely is not.

So, forget what the summary says and just get this book and read it when you can. It was really good and I think I want my own copy to keep on my shelf so I can reread it whenever I want.

One thought on “Easy by Tammara Webber

  1. Pingback: Monthly Wrap Up – September 2014 | Confessions of a Bookaholic

Leave a Reply

