Top Ten Clues You’re Clueless by Liz Czukas

So the first week of classes is over and today starts the second week/first full week of classes. I was able to still finish 4 books last week which isn’t saying much. I haven’t had much homework yet, but as classes pick up I imagine I will drop down to 2-3 books a week. This week is only going to feature three of those books. I will schedule the other for next week. If I can keep ahead of myself than I should always have reviews scheduled for the following weeks to come. Thursday I will be hosting a book tour so come check it out. I also have an awesome offer that comes with that book tour that is available both Thursday and Friday. Now enough of my babbling and onto the first review of the week!

Top Ten Clues You’re Clueless by Liz Czukas

Expected Publication: December 9, 2014

How I Acquired This Book: ARC Tour

4stars

20646933

Top Five Things That Are Ruining Chloe’s Day

5) Working the 6:30 a.m. shift at GoodFoods Market

4) Crashing a cart into a customer’s car right in front of her snarky coworker Sammi

3) Trying to rock the “drowned rat” look after being caught in a snowstorm

2) Making zero progress with her crush, Tyson (see #3)

1) Being accused—along with her fellow teenage employees—of stealing upwards of $10,000

Chloe would rather be anywhere than locked in work jail (aka the break room) with five of her coworkers . . . even if one of them is Tyson. But if they can band together to clear their names, what looks like a total disaster might just make Chloe’s list of Top Ten Best Moments.

(Summary from Goodreads)

When I read the summary I was expecting something completely different than what the book was really about. Top Ten Clues You’re Clueless takes place on Christmas Eve, but for some reason I was thinking she was working the 6:30am shift before school. TTCYC is a funny, quick story with a light mystery mixed in. I really enjoyed this book for numerous amounts of reasons.

First, the characters are all so different and aren’t your usual “cookie cutter” characters you read about in every other young adult book. They all come from completely different backgrounds and that really shapes who their character is and how they act throughout the book. They were also all pretty likeable. Some got annoying, but usually because the character was purposely being annoying at that part of the story. I also liked how even though they didn’t know each other too well, some never even talking to each other before, they all stuck together when getting blamed for the money being stolen.

Second, I loved the lists throughout the book. I myself am a list maker for so many things, some have a point while others are just for fun. I liked how it broke up the chapters every now and then and some of the lists had me cracking up. My favorite was the one around the lines of the weirdest things that Chloe ever experienced at GoodFoods. Some seemed so strange, but I could picture them in my head and I am sure they have happened at stores before. (My first guess would be at a Walmart, I mean have you ever seen the website peopleofwalmart.com?) It also helped up understand Chloe better too because we learned a lot about her from her lists.

Third, I loved although it was a cute romance book, there was a mystery thrown in. This mystery was so much different than most of the mystery books I have been reading lately. While the issue itself wasn’t light, compared to the past mystery books I’ve read, this mystery was light. At first I honestly had no clue what character had done it. Toward the end I was getting suspicious of one character, the right character. I was pretty surprised of who it was as well. It was something I hadn’t been expecting and it gave the book a nice surprise element. I also like the cute romances featured in the book. They weren’t anything serious, but were a cute little touch.

Overall, I definitely enjoyed Top Ten Clues You’re Clueless a lot better than Liz Czukas’ other book, Ask Again Later. It only took me a few hours to finish reading this book which was great considering I’m short on time now with my fall courses. It’s one I’d reread in the future and I have already added it to my birthday/Christmas wish list.

One thought on “Top Ten Clues You’re Clueless by Liz Czukas

  1. Pingback: Monthly Wrap Up – September 2014 | Confessions of a Bookaholic

Leave a Reply

