Monthly Wrap Up – August 2014

MWU

Wow, I cannot believe that today is already September 2nd. The last month of summer completely flew by, and while I’m sad that it’s time to say farewell to summer I cannot wait for fall to begin. I love when the weather gets chilly and I can finally wear jeans, hoodies and yes…Uggs. I also love crunchy leaves, back to school, the smells of autumn and of course Halloween and Thanksgiving.

I have not started classes yet, but I only have today left and then the new semester stars Wednesday. I am taking a full course load, 6 classes or 16 credits, although one is cardio kickboxing so it’s more or less like gym class in college. I’m not quite sure how crazy I will be with homework and studying, but I am currently still out of a job so I will have plenty of time to juggle my course work as well as reading and posting reviews on here. I will probably have to cut back to 2-3 reviews a week, which in my eyes isn’t too bad at all. As always I will also still be doing Top Ten Tuesdays.

Now onto the wrap up for August…

Books I Read In August:

Black Ice by Becca Fitzpatrick

#scandal by Sarah Ockler

Forget Me by K.A. Harrington

Ask the Passengers by A.S. King

Famous Last Words by Katie Alender

Riptide by Lindsey Scheibe

The F- It List by Julie Halpern

The Fine Art of Pretending by Rachel Harris

Roomies by Sara Zarr and Tara Altebrando

The Perfectionists by Sara Shepard

Magnolia by Kristi Cook

Promposal by Rhonda Helms

-Death Date by Victoria Laurie – Finished on August 31 but review will be posted in September

I cannot even begin to imagine where I got the time to read 13 books in August. I began reading Sublime by Christina Lauren and wasn’t able to get into it so I passed on it. I also am about halfway through The Accident by Kate Hendrick, but I started to get bored so I left off where I was to read some other books for now. Had I finished both I would have been up to 15 books in one month which is just crazy for myself.

I have also been insanely lucky with the books I have chosen to read lately. I don’t post a review on my blog unless I am rewarding the book 3 stars or higher. With the exception of one of the books mentioned above, I have really enjoyed every book I have read the past month. I’m sure I just jinxed myself but hopefully not.

Now onto exciting news.

vha

I won a bookish contest for the month of August for my review on Rites of Passage for the Debut Author Challenge 2014 and cannot wait to receive my prize in the mail and see what awesome goodies are in it. (By the way Rites of Passage by Joy N. Hensley has been on of my favorite books I have read so far this year so definitely check it out!) I have a few more Debut Author Challenge reviews I will be posting in September as well. Also on September 11th, I will be featuring Appaloosa Summer by Tudor Robins on my blog as a part of a blog tour. I am excited to post the review, so definitely be sure to check out my post for the day. The review will remain my top post all day so it will be super easy for you to find.

As for September (although we are already 2 days in) I am excited to see what happens and am going to just take things as they come. As I mentioned before I plan to stay consistent on my blog and post a few reviews a week. I have a break for almost 2 hours between two classes twice a week so I will be getting in as much reading as I can during that time. Hopefully this month goes smoothly and things don’t get out of control too much 🙂

Leave a Reply

