Magnolia by Kristi Cook

Magnolia by Kristi Cook

Expected Publication: August 5, 2014

How I Acquired This Book: ARC Tour

images (2)

16059149

In Magnolia Branch, Mississippi, the Cafferty and Marsden families are southern royalty. Neighbors since the Civil War, the families have shared vacations, holidays, backyard barbecues, and the overwhelming desire to unite their two clans by marriage. So when a baby boy and girl were born to the families at the same time, the perfect opportunity seemed to have finally arrived.

Jemma Cafferty and Ryder Marsden have no intention of giving in to their parents’ wishes. They’re only seventeen, for goodness’ sake, not to mention that one little problem: They hate each other! Jemma can’t stand Ryder’s nauseating golden-boy persona, and Ryder would like nothing better than to pretend stubborn Jemma doesn’t exist.

But when a violent storm ravages Magnolia Branch, it unearths Jemma’s and Ryder’s true feelings for each other as the two discover that the line between love and hate may be thin enough to risk crossing over.

(Summary from Goodreads)

“Wow”, is the first word I thought of after finishing Magnolia. I also had a bit of a book hangover afterwards, it was just so good. I absolutely loved everything about this book. I loved the characters, I loved the storyline and I cannot wait to go out and buy myself my own copy so I can read it over and over again. Magnolia is definitely my current favorite book at the moment. Magnolia is the type of book that when you finish, you wish it could have just gone on a little bit longer, if not forever.

I really loved both main characters, Jemma and Ryder, and their backstory. I’m your typical young adult female. I love a good contemporary romance with some extra drama added in. While both Jemma’s mother and Ryder’s mother want the two of them to be together, Jemma and Ryder cannot stand each other. Their moms often did get annoying and I can’t even begin to imagine if my own mother and her best friend did this to myself and her son. I think I’d go crazy and because of this, I can understand why there is so much hostility between the two of them.

I am also terrified of tornados (mind you I live in New Jersey where we rarely ever get anything more than a warning, so I’m not sure why I am so terrified of them) so my heart was pounding while Jemma and Ryder are stuck alone together during the storm. My heart was also racing because I couldn’t wait to see what was going to happen next between them. There were a few times I wanted to yell, “Just get over it already and admit your feelings!”, but refrained myself from doing so. Although being terrified of tornados, I did enjoy that part of the book the most. Perhaps because there were no outside influences on how Jemma and Ryder acted around each other. I also liked that it focused on just the two of them because I was able to get to know them better as characters.

I tried to not really give anything away in my review. It really was just an amazing young adult book and I would recommend for anyone and everyone to read it. It’s a super quick and easy read because you never want to put it down.

One thought on “Magnolia by Kristi Cook

  1. Pingback: Monthly Wrap Up – August 2014 | Confessions Of A Bookaholic

Leave a Reply

