The Perfectionists by Sara Shepard

I cannot even begin to describe how happy I was to see Sara Shepard is writing another young adult mystery series. I love Pretty Little Liars so much and The Perfectionists has so much potential to become big like PLL. I loved the similarities, but also how The Perfectionists is also more intense than Pretty Little Liars was in the beginning.

The Perfectionists by Sara Shepard

Expected Publication: October 7, 2014

How I Acquired This Book: ARC Tour

images (2)

20549288

From the author of the #1 New York Times bestselling series Pretty Little Liars comes a thrilling new novel about five perfect girls who are framed for a murder they didn’t commit.

In Beacon Heights, Washington, five girls—Ava, Caitlin, Mackenzie, Julie, and Parker—know that you don’t have to be good to be perfect. At first the girls think they have nothing in common, until they realize that they all hate Nolan Hotchkiss, who’s done terrible things to each of them. They come up with the perfect way to kill him—a hypothetical murder, of course. It’s just a joke…until Nolan turns up dead, in exactly the way they planned. Only, they didn’t do it. And unless they find the real killer, their perfect lives will come crashing down around them.

From Sara Shepard, author of the #1 New York Times bestselling Pretty Little Liars series, comes another story of dark secrets, shocking twists, and what happens when five beautiful girls will do anything to hide the ugly truth.

(Summary from Goodreads)

With Pretty Little Liars finally coming to an end, I am so happy to see Sara Shepard coming out with a fresh new young adult mystery series. The summary makes it seem very similar to Pretty Little Liars, but I assure you it is not. Every chapter is in a different character’s perspective (Ava, Caitlin, Mackenzie, Julie and Parker). I raced through this book because it dragged you into the story and I had to know what was going to happen next to each girl. I feel like The Perfectionists had more action and suspense than any of the first few Pretty Little Liars books. I liked that the story was fast paced and left the end hanging.

Each of the girls, Ava, Caitlin, Mackenzie, Julie and Parker, are dealing with issues of their own. A lot of their issues are related to Nolan Hotchkiss who seems like that one kid in high school who everyone secretly hated, but were friendly to his face. I was not disappointed that he got what was coming to him. In every chapter, the girls face issues with both their personal problems and problems related to the murder of Nolan. Besides Nolan, there are a few other antagonists that add to the issues in each girls lives. I did love the five girls, but I don’t know if I love them as much as I love Spencer, Aria, Emily and Hannah.

I absolutely loved The Perfectionists. I already added it to my Birthday/Christmas wish list along with the sequel if it’s available for pre-order by then. I did tweet Sara Shepard after finished the book to express my love and asking when I could expect the sequel to be published. Unfortunately we will be waiting until April 2015, but I cannot wait to find out what happens next to this group of characters! The book is also in the works to become a show on the CW (the same channel that aired Gossip Girl and currently airs The Vampire Diaries), so I am also really excited to watch it.

3 thoughts on “The Perfectionists by Sara Shepard

  1. Pingback: Monthly Wrap Up – August 2014 | Confessions Of A Bookaholic

    • Omg… for so long I thought I was the only one who thought that… Except I’m guessing Ava dresses like Spencer, but she acts like both Aria and Spencer according to me.

Leave a Reply

