Roomies by Sara Zarr and Tara Altebrando

Roomies is a book that has been on my radar and TBR list for a while now. I was originally waiting for it to come out in paperback, but I have no clue if it has or not yet. Thank goodness my library had it because it was one of the books I wanted to read the most from my TBR list.

Roomies by Sara Zarr and Tara Altebrando

How I Acquired This Book: Library Rental

4stars

17573559

It’s time to meet your new roomie.

When East Coast native Elizabeth receives her freshman-year roommate assignment, she shoots off an e-mail to coordinate the basics: television, microwave, mini-fridge. That first note to San Franciscan Lauren sparks a series of e-mails that alters the landscape of each girl’s summer — and raises questions about how two girls who are so different will ever share a dorm room.

As the countdown to college begins, life at home becomes increasingly complex. With family relationships and childhood friendships strained by change, it suddenly seems that the only people Elizabeth and Lauren can rely on are the complicated new boys in their lives . . . and each other. Even though they’ve never met.

(Summary from Goodreads)

First off, the cover of Roomies just instantly pops out at you. I loved the cover and the simplicity of it. It definitely was one factor that had grabbed my attention when I first saw Roomies online. (The hardcover is way brighter than the paperback too.) I also started this book thinking it was going to be just emails back and forth, kind of like the format of yolo, ttyl, and l8r, g8r. Thank goodness it wasn’t because so much was happening in each chapter and a lot would have been left out if it was only written in emails. I am also now assuming Sara Zarr wrote one character’s story, while Tara Altebrando wrote the other. Sometimes when I read a book that alternates authors for each chapter, it isn’t as smooth as a single author book. Roomies though was great. Everything flowed from one chapter to the next.

In the beginning, I really liked Lauren and Elizabeth. Further into the story they tended to annoy me pretty often. That is the only reason why I gave Roomies 4 stars instead of 5. They just would do, say or think/justify stupid things way too often. They both overreacted a couple times too which was unnecessary. I liked both of their stories and how it showed that no one is perfect. Lo and EB only knew each other from their emails and they both assumed stuff about one another and as they got to know each other more, they realized they were more alike than they thought. I wish there was a final few chapters where we could have actually read about them meeting for the first time. I would also love to see a sequel to see what happens during their first year of college and what happens between them and their boys/boyfriends.

Roomies is a perfect book if you are in college or heading to college, although it’s great for anyone to read. It’s so real and so easy to relate to some issues. Reading Roomies made me wish I had gone away or at least chose to live in a dorm while at college.

One thought on “Roomies by Sara Zarr and Tara Altebrando

  1. Pingback: Monthly Wrap Up – August 2014 | Confessions Of A Bookaholic

Leave a Reply

