The Fine Art of Pretending by Rachel Harris

The Fine Art of Pretending by Rachel Harris

Expected Publication: September 30, 2014

How I Acquired This Book: ARC Tour

images (2)

17696131

According to the guys at Fairfield Academy, there are two types of girls: the kind you hook up with, and the kind you’re friends with. Seventeen-year-old Alyssa Reed is the second type. And she hates it. With just one year left to change her rank, she devises a plan to become the first type by homecoming, and she sets her sights on the perfect date—Justin Carter, Fairfield Academy’s biggest hottie and most notorious player.

With 57 days until the dance, Aly launches Operation Sex Appeal and sheds her tomboy image. The only thing left is for Justin actually to notice her. Enter best friend Brandon Taylor, the school’s second biggest hottie, and now Aly’s pretend boyfriend. With his help, elevating from “funny friend” to “tempting vixen” is only a matter of time.

But when everything goes according to plan, the inevitable “break up” leaves their friendship in shambles, and Aly and Brandon with feelings they can’t explain. And the fake couple discovers pretending can sometimes cost you the one thing you never expected to want.

(Summary from Goodreads)

I am a total sucker for young adult romance books like The Fine Art of Pretending. Ever since I saw 10 Things I Hate About You, I have enjoyed watching movies and reading books where someone, or both people, go into a fake relationship but end up really falling for each other. The fact that it’s two best friends in The Fine Art of Pretending just made it even better. I absolutely loved reading this book and was sad to have to send it on to the next person.

I loved the characters in The Fine Art of Pretending. Aly was so easily relatable because I feel like most girls have that one guy friend they have crushed on but it has never been anything more than friends. For me, there was several. I was like Aly myself where I was friends with a lot of the guys, but that is all they ever saw me as, a friend. I could completely understand where Aly was coming from when she launches Operation Sex Appeal and it’s something I’ve done myself in the past. Brandon, Aly’s best friend and pretend boyfriend, seems like a total sweetheart. He is so protective of Aly and is always there for her. It killed me to see them both so in denial about their feelings for each other. I liked Aly’s two girl friends although they weren’t in the book as much as Brandon. As for Justin, at first I had mixed feelings about him but then I ended up really liking him and feeling bad for him (but I’m not giving anything else about him away).

The Fine Art of Pretending has just the right amount of drama and heartache in it. Every chapter was eventful and exciting and I was never sitting there bored while I was reading. If anything, I was kind of annoyed at myself for trying to read this on vacation. If I had read this while at home, I would have finished it in a day, but because I was away and only had a little bit of time here and there to read, it took me 3 days to read! When it is published I am definitely buying my own copy and reading it again.

One thought on “The Fine Art of Pretending by Rachel Harris

  1. Pingback: Monthly Wrap Up – August 2014 | Confessions Of A Bookaholic

Leave a Reply

