The F- It List by Julie Halpern

I put The F- It List on my TBR list a few months back and I just decided to check it out at the library. I didn’t remember what about this book caught my eye, maybe the cover or maybe the original title. Either way, The F- It List was amazing! I feel like I have been way too lucky with reading really great books lately and I am just waiting for the dud to come along.

The F- It List by Julie Halpen

How I Acquired This Book: Library Rental

4stars

17286812

With her signature heart and humor, Julie Halpern explores a strained friendship strengthened by one girl’s battle with cancer.

Alex’s father recently died in a car accident. And on the night of his funeral, her best friend Becca slept with Alex’s boyfriend. So things aren’t great. Alex steps away from her friendship with Becca and focuses on her family.

But when Alex finally decides to forgive Becca, she finds out something that will change her world again—Becca has cancer.

So what do you do when your best friend has cancer? You help her shave her head. And then you take her bucket list and try to fulfill it on her behalf. Because if that’s all you can do to help your ailing friend—you do it.

(Summary from Goodreads)

Something either about the title or cover is what drew me into The F- It List. I unfortunately had to wait a couple of weeks to read it though because someone already had it out at the library. When I finally was able to check it out, I began reading it as soon as I got home. I immediately was drawn into the story. It was way different than what I had originally been expecting. I myself have made a bucket list (consisting of way more things than Becca’s) and I thought this was going to be a typical bucket list. Becca’s “bucket list” however was a complete mix from absolutely crazy to completely random. The F- It List also didn’t start off how I was expecting or what I was used to and I liked that I literally laughed out loud in the first paragraph.

The two main characters, Alex and Becca seemed like typical best friends. They were super close, have arguments every now and then, and then make up within a day. I have to give Alex props though because I am not sure I could ever forgive a best friend for sleeping with my boyfriend. I really liked both of the main characters, but I do think I liked Alex more. She was super supportive and was constantly trying to be positive and optimistic for Becca. She also agreed to help Becca finish her bucket list and was very open about which ones she had completed. I also really liked Alex’s “love interest” in the book. It definitely showed a typical teenage relationship and didn’t sugarcoat it to sound like it’s all rainbows and unicorns.

I did think there was a bit too much death in the book. I feel like every book I have read lately there has been at least one death (including murder). It’s on thing to have several deaths if the book is a murder mystery or thriller, but one death to me is plenty for a contemporary young adult book. After the second I kind of sit there and think, “Geez was that necessary?”, because the book is fictional and I feel like most teens and young adults don’t face several deaths in a year.

Overall I enjoyed The F- It List and am definitely going to buy my own copy when it comes out in paperback. It’s a good book when you just need a break from serious novels or if you are looking for a light, funny contemporary.

One thought on “The F- It List by Julie Halpern

  1. Pingback: Monthly Wrap Up – August 2014 | Confessions Of A Bookaholic

Leave a Reply

