Black Ice by Becca Fitzpatrick

Hooray for second amazing book in a row. I really needed a giant dose of amazing when it came to reading lately and between the book I reviewed yesterday, Rites of Passage, and Black Ice today, I got that giant dose of awesome.

Black Ice by Becca Fitzpatrick

Expected Publication: October 7, 2014

How I Acquired This Book: ARC Tour

images (2)

16059938

Sometimes danger is hard to see… until it’s too late.

Britt Pfeiffer has trained to backpack the Teton Range, but she isn’t prepared when her ex-boyfriend, who still haunts her every thought, wants to join her. Before Britt can explore her feelings for Calvin, an unexpected blizzard forces her to seek shelter in a remote cabin, accepting the hospitality of its two very handsome occupants—but these men are fugitives, and they take her hostage.

In exchange for her life, Britt agrees to guide the men off the mountain. As they set off, Britt knows she must stay alive long enough for Calvin to find her. The task is made even more complicated when Britt finds chilling evidence of a series of murders that have taken place there… and in uncovering this, she may become the killer’s next target.

But nothing is as it seems in the mountains, and everyone is keeping secrets, including Mason, one of her kidnappers. His kindness is confusing Britt. Is he an enemy? Or an ally?

(Summary from Goodreads)

Black Ice delivered the thrills that the past young adult thriller books I read lacked. In every new chapter there was some unexpected turn or surprise and I loved that I couldn’t put it down because I had to know what happened next.

When I began reading this book, I didn’t think anything major was going to happen at first, but it did. Something huge happened within the first two chapters and it only became more intense from there on out. I was terrified for Britt and had no idea what her two kidnappers were going to do. About halfway through something completely crazy and unexpected happens. I think my jaw may have hit the floor. The story line only became even more interesting and thrilling from there.

I definitely fell in love with the main characters Britt and Mason. Even though Mason is one of Britt’s kidnappers, the author makes you love him. His character was also very interesting and the his story is very unexpected. Britt on the other hand, I had to agree with almost all of the choices she made. Once again here is another book the featured a strong, female lead character. She stood her ground even when she was in danger and she also knew her way around the mountain without help. As for a the other characters, some were okay and only present for a couple of chapters and others I absolutely despised. You can say I was pretty happy how the story ended.

This was a great young adult thriller/mystery with an original story line and it actually delivered the thrills as well. I loved how we got a definite ending at the end and we weren’t left asking questions about what happens next when you know there will never be a sequel (HUGE pet peeve). When Black Ice comes out in paperback, I will be buying it and adding it to my bookshelf.

One thought on “Black Ice by Becca Fitzpatrick

  1. Pingback: Monthly Wrap Up – August 2014 | Confessions Of A Bookaholic

Leave a Reply

