The Sound by Sarah Alderson

I first saw The Sound on Pulseit, a site that uploads books that you can read for free for a limited time. Since The Sound was from a few weeks prior, I was only able to read an extended excerpt (which I didn’t even read after I learned my lesson with To All the Boy’s I’ve Loved Before). When I saw it on the new YA shelf at the library a couple days later, I immediately snatched it up and checked it out.

The Sound by Sarah Alderson

3stars

18723063

A British nanny looking for a low-key summer finds buried secrets, murderous attention, and unexpected romance when she visits the Nantucket Sound.

The Nantucket Sound is a beachfront playground for the privileged and elite, where the sunny days are filled with scenic bike rides, backyard picnics, and bonfire parties.

But all Ren Kingston, a visiting Brit still reeling from heartbreak really wants is a quiet summer as a nanny for one of Nantucket’s wealthy families. Getting acquainted with handsome Jeremy and his young group of trust fund, private school kids was not part of the plan. Neither was befriending the local bad boy whose reputation is more dangerous than charming.

After a dead body is found next to The Sound’s postcard-perfect view, Ren starts to wonder where the real threat lies. Because it’s becoming clear that her newfound friends are much more than they seem. They’re hiding secrets. Secrets that Ren wants no part of.

But once The Sound has you in its current, it won’t want to let you go.

(Summary from Goodreads)

Seems like YA psychological thrillers and mysteries are all I am reading these days. This has been the third in two weeks and I am now starting on number four. The Sound however, was not my favorite so far. I did however love the setting, Nantucket, and the season, summer.

I don’t believe the summary does the book justice at all. I do believe it also set the book up for a bit a failure. Thanks to the summary, you are automatically beginning to read this book not trusting any of the main characters except for Ren herself. You are constantly waiting for something to happen so you could go, “Well who didn’t see that coming?”, and yet that moment never happened once. With a different summary, I do think I would have enjoyed this book more because I wouldn’t have had false hopes.

The book itself started out kind of slow. There were times when I wanted to put it down and do something else, but thanks to the library’s return date, I kept reading. Things definitely began to pick up and get more interesting a few chapters in, but there was never a moment where I felt like I couldn’t put the book down or that I couldn’t wait to turn the page. I’m not saying that this wasn’t a good or enjoyable book, because overall I did enjoy it. Maybe I just had my hopes set too high for this YA thriller after I had read some pretty amazing ones in the past weeks?

I did love the main character Ren. She came over from Britain to be a nanny to two young children. Something I definitely could relate to. The family, the Tripps, were also very likable and acted like Ren was their own. The daughter Ren was taking care of definitely had me laughing quite a few times as well. As for Jeremy and Jesse, I don’t want to go into detail with either one. I will let you form your opinions on them if you read this book. If you don’t and for some reason would like to hear my opinion or what happens with either of them, leave a comment and I’ll tell you.

Okay onto the actual storyline. I thought it was pretty good but definitely could have been better. The character who was responsible for the killings definitely caught me off guard and came as a shock, as did some of the other events that took place. I couldn’t believe what had really happened when all of the truths came out and I do wish we had a little more information as to why the killer was killing these girls. He gave one sentence for his reasoning which didn’t quite make sense, but then again I guess most psychopaths don’t. So while I was shocked, I never was actually “scared” I guess I could say. Books like Liv, Forever and Don’t Look Back both gave me the chills and made me feel a little creeped/freaked out at points. I absolutely love when I can get that feeling from a book and was hoping The Sound would make me feel that way as well.

I do feel like I am mainly bashing and complaining about this book even though I enjoyed it. I apologize for that and I don’t want to discourage anyone who’s reading this post from reading The Sound. Like I said earlier, perhaps I just had my hopes/expectations set too high for this novel? It does have a good rating (in my opinion) on Goodreads and does make for a good beach YA psychological thriller and mystery book.

Let me know, have you read The Sound or are you planning on reading it? If you have read it, how did you feel about the book and out of 5 stars, what would you rate it?

One thought on “The Sound by Sarah Alderson

  1. Pingback: Monthly Wrap Up – July 2014 | Confessions Of A Bookaholic

Leave a Reply

