Liv, Forever by Amy Talkington

Usually when I pick up an author’s debut novel, I read it with an open mind. I usually don’t expect anything fantastic or something that will be on my top ten list of favorite books, but I have to hand it to Amy Talkington. She wrote on hell of a debut young adult novel.

Liv, Forever by Amy Talkington

5stars

18077961

When Liv Bloom lands an art scholarship at Wickham Hall, it’s her ticket out of the foster system. Liv isn’t sure what to make of the school’s weird traditions and rituals, but she couldn’t be happier. For the first time ever, she has her own studio, her own supply of paints. Everything she could want.

Then she meets Malcolm Astor, a legacy student, a fellow artist, and the one person who’s ever been able to melt her defenses. Liv’s only friend at Wickham, fellow scholarship kid Gabe Nichols, warns her not to get involved, but life is finally going Liv’s way, and all she wants to do is enjoy the ride.

But Liv’s bliss is doomed. Weeks after arriving, she is viciously murdered and, in death, she discovers that she’s the latest victim of a dark conspiracy that has claimed many lives. Cursed with the ability to see the many ghosts on Wickham’s campus, Gabe is now Liv’s only link to the world of the living. To Malcolm.

Together, Liv, Gabe, and Malcolm fight to expose the terrible truth that haunts the halls of Wickham. But Liv must fight alone to come to grips with the ultimate star-crossed love.

(Summary from Goodreads)

This is definitely going to be one of the harder reviews I’ve done. That probably doesn’t make much sense because I gave the book five stars and have said I loved it. I feel like no matter how good a review I write, I won’t be able to do the book justice. So, although I will be writing a review I’m just going to strongly urge you now to buy or rent Liv, Forever. You won’t regret it.

I had my eyes on Liv, Forever before it was published, but waited until my library got it to read it. Well I can assure you, I will be buying a copy of it ASAP. I sat down with Liv, Forever and would have to say it only took me about 5 hours total to read it. It was so addicting that I literally could not put it down.

Liv, Forever had everything and I mean EVERYTHING in it, boarding school, both budding romance and friendships, secret societies, ghosts, seriously everything! I honestly fell in love with Liv and my heart broke for her over and over again. I loved the other two main characters, Gabe, Liv’s friend who can see and hear her after she dies, and Malcolm, Liv’s love interest. They were both also amazing secondary characters and really added to the story. As for the ghosts, I really like all of them and how after so many chapters, each ghost got her own chapter to tell the reader what lead to her death.

I never really knew how twisted the ending was going to turn out to be and never really had an idea who killed Liv either. The book kept it a mystery and I loved that because in the end I was so shocked and surprised as well as disgusted. I was also ecstatic to see that the book ended where another one could easily pick up. I really, really, really hope Amy Talkington writes a sequel to Liv, Forever. I do believe I may have found my new favorite book. I seriously cannot get enough of it and am considering rereading it before I have to return it to the library next week. For a debut novel, it was beautifully written as well as incredibly different and original. I can’t wait to see what else Amy Talkington writes.

Have you read Liv, Forever and if so did you enjoy? If you haven’t do you plan on reading it? (Because I really recommend that you do!)

One thought on “Liv, Forever by Amy Talkington

  1. Pingback: Monthly Wrap Up – July 2014 | Confessions Of A Bookaholic

Leave a Reply

