Such A Pretty Girl by Laura Wiess

So for some reason my first review on Such A Pretty Girl is showing up all funky on my blog, so I am going to try reposting it as a new post and see if that helps. If not, I will just link my review from Goodreads since it says the same exact thing.

Such a Pretty Girl is actually a reread for myself. I haven’t posted a review on it before, and I really enjoyed the book so I’m going to post it now.

Such a Pretty Girl by Laura Wiess

5stars

162086

They promised Meredith nine years of safety, but only gave her three. 

Her father was supposed to be locked up until Meredith turned eighteen. She thought she had time to grow up, get out, and start a new life. But Meredith is only fifteen, and today her father is coming home from prison.

Today her time has run out.

(Summary taken from Goodreads)

I have been a fan of Laura Wiess’ novels for the past few years and Such a Pretty Girl is no exception. I originally read this years ago, probably around the age of 15 or 16 years old. This book was the first of hers I read and it instantly made me want to read more.

Such a Pretty Girl deals with a very serious subject, sexual abuse. While it does deal with that subject, the author never goes into details about the abuse. While you may disgusted and even dirty at times while reading this book, you will be rooting for Meredith as she tries not only to protect herself, but other children, from her father. The story is told from Meredith’s point of view, so I feel you get a good sense of what a rape/sexual abuse victim has to deal with on a day to day basis. She still lives in the same town and is treated like she is the predator and not another one of her father’s victims by her neighbors and other people in town.

When it comes down to the characters there was a very clear line between who I liked and who I absolutely hated. Meredith and her friend Andy were definitely two of my favorites and I was a bit disappointed in the end to not see what happens to them and where life takes them. I did really enjoy the friendship and romantic relationship between Meredith and Andy, and the story behind how they became to be friends. Others, like Meredith’s father and mother, I absolutely hated. Meredith’s mother throughout the entire book is on her father’s side believing his actions were mistakes, and not done by choice. She also tends to blame Meredith in the way that people tell rape victims today that “they were asking for it” or  blaming what happened to them by what they wore. I wanted to slap the mother quite a few times to try and knock some sense into her.

Although I had read Such a Pretty Girl before, I didn’t remember much about the story and felt like I was reading it for the first time again. I had rented it from the library, but will probably buy it so I can add it to my collection with her other novels. If you have read Such a Pretty Girl before, I’d recommend reading two of her other novels, Leftovers and How It Ends. Both are phenomenal and touch on some sensitive topics as well. If you haven’t read Such a Pretty Girl before, I’d definitely recommend adding all three to your to-be-read list.

One thought on “Such A Pretty Girl by Laura Wiess

  1. Pingback: Monthly Wrap Up – July 2014 | Confessions Of A Bookaholic

Leave a Reply

