Don’t Look Back by Jennifer L. Armentrout

I think I requested this book on NetGally before because the cover looked familiar when I picked it up at the library. So, if I did then it was one I wasn’t approved for and I’m kind of upset I didn’t get to read this sooner because it was amazing.

Don’t Look Back by Jennifer L. Armentrout

4stars

13418925

Samantha is a stranger in her own life. Until the night she disappeared with her best friend, Cassie, everyone said Sam had it all-popularity, wealth, and a dream boyfriend. 

Sam has resurfaced, but she has no recollection of who she was or what happened to her that night. As she tries to piece together her life from before, she realizes it’s one she no longer wants any part of. The old Sam took “mean girl” to a whole new level, and it’s clear she and Cassie were more like best enemies. Sam is pretty sure that losing her memories is like winning the lottery. She’s getting a second chance at being a better daughter, sister, and friend, and she’s falling hard for Carson Ortiz, a boy who has always looked out for her-even if the old Sam treated him like trash.

But Cassie is still missing, and the facts about what happened to her that night isn’t just buried deep inside of Sam’s memory-someone else knows, someone who wants to make sure Sam stays quiet. All Sam wants is the truth, and if she can unlock her clouded memories of that fateful night, she can finally move on. But what if not remembering is the only thing keeping Sam alive?

(Summary from Goodreads)

Oh my goodness, Jennifer L. Armentrout had be fooled from the very beginning. I was so convinced I knew who had done what they did to Samantha and Cassie and oh man, was I so far from the truth. I loved that Don’t Look Back kept me guessing after finishing every chapter. I couldn’t put it down and it definitely had me up until the morning hours.

I absolutely loved the main character Samantha. I loved how she changed for the better because even though the reader is thinking, “yeah well she didn’t have a choice”, but the thing is she did. She decided to use her second chance to better herself and fix the wrongs she did before. She did get me frustrated when she was with her boyfriend a couple of times, but she was a very likable character. I also loved her “crush”, Carson Ortiz. When the summary says the old her (treated him, they weren’t exaggerating. I loved how he was still such a sweetheart to her and now that I think about it, I definitely can answer one of the questions from yesterday’s survey now. (Fictional character I probably would have dated in high school)  I hands down would have wanted to date Carson Ortiz in high school. He seems like such a sweetheart.

The book was a bit longer than the others I had finished before it and it was a psychological thriller and mystery, which I have been into lately so I was definitely pleased with Don’t Look Back. It made me think as well which I liked and kept me guessing and turning page after page because it was just too good and suspenseful to put down, even to sleep! I am definitely going to buy it and add it to my collection because I will be rereading it in the future as well as recommending it to anyone who asks for recommendations.

2 thoughts on “Don’t Look Back by Jennifer L. Armentrout

  1. Pingback: Sunday Funday | Confessions Of A Bookaholic

  2. Pingback: Monthly Wrap Up – July 2014 | Confessions Of A Bookaholic

Leave a Reply

