The Prince of Venice Beach by Blake Nelson

Looking for a new book to add to your summer TBR list? Look no further, The Prince of Venice Beach is a great summer book that you won’t be able to put down.

The Prince of Venice Beach by Blake Nelson

5stars

16635620

Robert “‘Cali” Callahan is a teen runaway, living on the streets of Venice Beach, California. He’s got a pretty sweet life: a treehouse to sleep in, a gang of surf bros, a regular basketball game…even a girl who’s maybe-sorta interested in him.

What he doesn’t have is a plan.

All that changes when a local cop recommends Cali to a private investigator who is looking for a missing teenager. After all, Cali knows everyone in Venice. But the streets are filled with people who don’t want to be found, and when he’s hired to find the beautiful Reese Abernathy, who would do anything to stay hidden, Cali must decide where his loyalties truly lie.

(Summary taken from Goodreads)

When I first began reading The Prince of Venice Beach, I really wanted to fall in love with it. Luckily (and judging by the amount of stars I gave it) I did! I was expecting it to be good, maybe even great. What I wasn’t expecting was to finish it the same day I began reading it.

While it was easy to get into from page 1, I will be honest and say the first few chapters flew by time wise. Cali helps local cops and detectives to find people, and in the first few chapters he is hired to find two or three people. A few weeks pass by between chapters and I feel like we don’t get to see Cali do what he does on a normal day.

I fell in love with Cali. He seemed to get along with everyone and when he came into money, he made sure to show his friends how much he appreciates them with gifts. Besides Cali, most of the other characters came and went with each chapter. There were a few that were mentioned more than a couple times that we were able to get to know and I had mixed feelings on some of them.

When it came down to Cali finding Reese Abernathy, I was a little confused, but in a good way. Although the book was a light read, it added some mystery into it. I wasn’t sure who to believe and who was telling the truth and who was lying. What happened in the last couple of chapters really blew my mind and it felt like something I would have seen on a TV show. I also felt like the book ended without a real ending. I would have loved to see what Cali did in the future and what decisions he had made.Perhaps there will be a sequel? I can only hope.

This is perfect to read on the beach or during the summer in general. It was only about 250 pages and you just fly through them because the book is so good and addicting. It’s also pretty original and I haven’t read another book like it before. I also had never heard of the author, Blake Nelson (sorry if you’re reading this!), but am going to look for more YA books of his to read in the future.

One thought on “The Prince of Venice Beach by Blake Nelson

  1. Pingback: Monthly Wrap Up – July 2014 | Confessions Of A Bookaholic

Leave a Reply

