The Year I Turned Sixteen by Diane Schwemm

Let me begin this post by saying, “Ha!”. I don’t mean that in a bad way either, I just had to laugh at myself.. Earlier in the week I had posted that I was currently reading The Year I Turned Sixteen and didn’t anticipate on finishing it so soon. Well, I sat down while I was babysitting and read 400 pages out of the 700 that are in this book. Yes, you read that right, there is 700 pages in The Year I Turned Sixteen. There are four different books in this one, each following a different sister (and the year they turned sixteen) and for $9.99 it is a great deal. It also went by so quickly because I couldn’t put it down.

The Year I Turned Sixteen by Diane Schwemm

4stars

theyeariturnedsixteen1

Four sisters, four birthdays, and four unforgettable years.

Rose dreams of becoming a singer, but when her obligation as the oldest sister start to hold her back, she faces an impossible decision.

Sick of being the “good” sister, Daisy is drawn to a boy with a more dangerous edge and pulls away from the people who care about her most.

Laurel must deal with the loss of someone close, but a new love in the wake of tragedy might just be what she needs.

With her sisters all figuring out their futures, Lily feels lost, and for the first time she must figure out who she is all on her own.

With more than cupcakes and candles on their minds, each of the Walker sisters is in for a sweet sixteen that will change everything.

(Summary from back cover)

I thought I would like reading this book, but I actually loved reading this book. I can’t even say how many times I grabbed it at Barnes and Noble to only put it back on the shelf or scroll past it on Amazon. I am so happy I finally bought it and took the time to read it though. I loved how it was broken into four different stories and each sister experienced different things when they turned sixteen. There was always 2-3 years between each sister as well, so between each stories time went forward 2 or 3 years, but the author kept the reader updated on what had happened with the previous sister. The one theme I did notice with each sister’s story was romance. Each sister has to face difficult issues though in every story and I came to feel like I was apart of their family and absolutely loved all of the characters. I definitely had my share of both laughing and crying when reading this book and at one point felt like someone ripped my heart out because I just couldn’t believe or accept what had happened.

The Year I Turned Sixteen should be added to your TBR list and would be a great summer read if you have time to sit down and tackle a longer book. Although it is longer, it was really enjoyable so it went by quickly. Also, each story is 150-200 pages each, so you could always split it up.

**I do not currently have another book already finished to review this week, but I should finish one by Tuesday night so I will do my best to get another review posted this week! I may also do a video…if I feel brave enough. 🙂 **

Leave a Reply

