#NoShameYA

So I’ve seen a few other bloggers mention an article that was posted on The Slate called Against YA by Ruth Graham. I read the article before I saw these posts and can’t remember how I got to it, but I agree with my fellow bloggers and their reactions.

Tote

Graham basically says in her article that if you are not a teen or young adult and you are reading a YA novel, you should be ashamed and embarrassed. I’m sorry but WHAT?! I am 21 years old and I guess in some ways I am considered a young adult, but if I am still reading YA novels when I’m in my 30’s, who cares?! To me, reading is reading and at the end of the day if someone is reading a book, good for them. There are plenty of people out there who do not read for pleasure at all so for those of us who do, we should not be criticized for the reading material we enjoy.

Quote from article: “Adults should feel embarrassed about reading literature written for children.”

Yes, everyone is entitled to their own opinion, blah blah blah, but when should it be okay for another blogger and reader to basically slam some of us based on what we purchase and read? And just because everyone is entitled to their own opinion doesn’t mean that I have to agree with yours and not want to slap you for it. I’m sure 98% of YA authors do not agree with that statement and are probably happy that not only is their book popular, but popular with all ages.

Quote from article: “…when I read The Fault in Our Stars. I thought, Hmm, that’s a nicely written book for 13-year-olds.”

That’s great, but I don’t think the author John Green had intended The Fault in Our Stars to only be read by 13 year olds. The novel is aimed for a younger crowd, but was obviously enjoyed by people of all ages and for an author, I would have to imagine that that means a lot to them. Their goal when writing a book is for people to read it and be like, “wow that was great”, and as long as children, young adults and adults are doing that, I think we’re just fine.

If you look up this article on Google, because I absolutely REFUSE to post the link on here, you can view the comments which there are some who agree with the author and others who do not. A hashtag has even started on Twitter, #NoShameYA, for those who have disagreed. I am aware this post was more of a rant than anything else, but it really bothered me that someone who is a reader and blogger themselves would slam the rest of us like this. If you have any comments on this article feel free to leave a comment, even if you disagree with me.

Ok-YA

Comments from the article: “These authors have figured out what the rest of the literary community seems to have forgotten. People read books to enjoy a good story. Good stories help the reader escape their lives and live in another one for a little while.”

“Regardless that I believe everyone should read what they want to read and that I find this “article” to be some of the most pretentious drivel I’ve read in quite a long while, it’s not even accurate in terms of what separates YA and Adult literature.”

“Wow, what pretentious claptrap.  And how dare you tell me what I should read and what I should enjoy.  I read YA.  I read Harlequin romances.  I’m not ashamed of that and nothing you can say from your ivory tower of judgment will make me ashamed of that. To close, there’s a great quote from Rae Carson floating around Facebook – ‘I don’t care if it’s Twilight or Fifty Shades or War and Peace – Never let someone make you ashamed of what you love to read.””

“To everyone: read what makes you happy. Life’s too short to conform to some pedantic, insufferable Slate columnist’s standards of what books adults “should” be reading. I happen to enjoy books with likable protagonists and satisfying, happy endings — I see enough unlikable people and unsatisfying endings in real life, so I read to escape all that, and I refuse to apologize or be embarrassed about it.”

“Fiction is like chocolate.  There’s something for everyone–dark, light, nuts, chews, and those ones with the weird centers.”

I honestly love some of these comments and it is also amazing to see the ages of some of the people that disagree with the author of the article. As I said above, if you search on Google for the article, you can view the entire article as well as the thousands of comments posted (although most of the more recent comments seem to argue against the article).

Leave a Reply

