Top Ten Tuesday 06/24/2014

ttt

I almost didn’t do a post for this week’s Top Ten Tuesday because at first I couldn’t really think of any idea to put on the list. After taking to day to think about it and seeing a few other lists, I have a couple that I am able to post. The Broke and the Bookish come up with the weekly topic for Top Ten Tuesday and this week is Ten Book Cover Trends I Like/Dislike. I will probably go back and forth between like and dislike, so I will bold which is it.

1.) I dislike when the cover of a book is the movie poster or a picture from the movie. The biggest one for me ever was Twilight. I didn’t like the actors/actresses chosen for the roles and thankfully I already had the black classic covers.

2.) I like when there are real people on the covers. A lot of you are probably like, “What?! I can’t stand that!”, and in a way I guess it’s hypocritical of me for liking people on the cover, but not a movie tie in cover. I’m not necessarily saying it has to be their face, but sometimes a picture from the shoulders down (like Laguna Cove and Flirting With Boys), from behind (The Moon and More and Rules of Summer), or if the characters are in a shadow so you can’t see any features (Five Summers and Keeping the Moon). It just to me makes the story seem more relatable because I’m seeing actual people on the cover. (If that makes sense…)

3.) I dislike when the cover has absolutely nothing to do with the actual book or anything that is happening in the book. Like what exactly was the point of  a jar of butterflies or a girl lying in the jungle entangled in branches and leaves?

4.) I like the cover trend of using dolls instead of real people. Obviously Pretty Little Liars is the biggest one that this applies to, but another book I enjoyed that used a doll on the cover was Getting Revenge on Lauren Wood. Maybe it’s the child in me that enjoys seeing a Barbie like doll on the cover?

5.) I like when the title of the book takes up a majority of the cover. I feel like it then leaves little room to add pointless pictures on the cover. Ten is my best example. (Which Ten also applies to my number 6.)

6.) I like when there is a small sentence on the cover. Two examples, on the cover of How Zoey Made Her Dreams (Mostly) Come True is says, “Not your typical Cinderella story…”, and on the cover of Ten it says, ” Ten teens. Three Days. One killer.”. That one sentence can honestly draw me in to buying or reading the book without even having to read the back or inside cover. The main reason why I bought and read Ten was because of the cover and that one sentence.

7.) I like when the cover has a beach on it. Now this could just be because it’s summer so a lot of summer themed books are coming out, but I love going to the beach and if I see a cover with a beach on it, I will buy and read it.

8.) I dislike when the cover is illustrated. Not sure why but I rather just see real people, real objects, ect. I feel like it is easier to relate to the book or to picture what is going on or the characters in my head. (Not saying that the cover pictures always influence how I see a character while I am reading. Although The Summer I Turned Pretty trilogy used real people on the cover, I never once pictured them like that while I was reading.)

I think that’s it. This was a tough topic for me because I don’t really feel like there are that many “trends” out there. I mean book covers don’t come and go like trends in clothing do. Covers have been illustrated for a long time, have used real people for a long time, and ect, so I felt like I was more or less listing what I like to see on book covers.

Leave a Reply

