Dangerous Girls by Abigail Haas

The week before Memorial Day weekend I went to Barnes and Noble to do a small book haul and I saw Dangerous Girls on the shelf. I passed by it several times while trying to find another book. Another girl was in the aisle with me and she had picked it up, read the back cover and then walked away with it. I thought to myself, “hm maybe I should see what it’s about…”. So I also grabbed a copy and read the back cover and was like yep, I’m getting this book.

Dangerous Girls by Abigail Haas

4stars

dangerous girls pb

Spring Break. Aruba. Swimming, sunshine, and drinks. Lots of drinks. It’s supposed to be the best time of Anna’s life. Perfect. But then Anna’s best friend is found brutally murdered. And the local police begin to investigate the gruesome crime, suspicion and evidence unfathomably point to one person – Anna. Now trapped in a country not her own, Anna must fight for her freedom and prove her innocence. But as she awaits the judge’s decision, it become clear to Anna that everyone around her thinks she is not only guilty, but dangerous. Very dangerous. And when the truth finally comes out, it’s more shocking than anyone could have every imagined….

(Summary taken from back cover)

Wow, so I knew this book was going to be intense but I didn’t realize how intense it would be with each turning page. I’m going to talk about the book in this paragraph and in the next, but in the next paragraph there will be spoilers for those of you who have already read it or those who have zero interest in reading it but would like to know what exactly happened. I do encourage you to read Dangerous Girls though because it sucks you in from the beginning and will have you reading it until you’re forced to put it down. Throughout the entire book you never really know who the murderer is and you constantly have a new idea or theory and in the end, it is so mind blowing. The way the author, Abigail Haas, has put together an amazing young adult thriller and wrote it very well. The chapters are titled by time periods such as Now, Before, Trial, Custody and some are scripts of text messages or poems Anna wrote for school, all “evidence” that she is dangerous. It was definitely different and thrilling.

Now onto SPOILERS!

So if you intend on reading this book stop now.

Because seriously, you won’t have the same reaction if you find out what really happened.

And it will change your opinion of the overall plot.

Andd if you know what happens before you read it, it won’t be as thrilling.

So seriously, just stop reading now.

Or continue if you want, but I warned you.

Soooo, at first I was like, “there is no way Anna murdered Elise (the best friend)”, and as the story went on I was like okay it was that creepy guy from the club. Oh wait never mind, it had to be Juan who gave Elise the bracelet. And even at the end I was almost convinced it was Melanie, one of the other friends from the trip. I thought she killed Elise after Anna told her Elise thought she was annoying and wished she’d get the hint and back off. Never though, never did I actually think Anna did it. And in the end I was strangely on Anna’s side even after finding out. I know murder is wrong, and trust me I will not be going after my best friend if I find her in bed with my boyfriend, but Elise seemed like such a bitch. The story was fictional and I feel the way it was written was to have the readers be on Anna’s side even after finding out she was the killer. The only thing I can’t understand is the way she killed Elise. I felt like she went overboard. So you walked in and found her and your boyfriend in bed. Doesn’t mean you have to kill the girl, let alone stab her X amount of times. I was shocked though to find out that Anna did it because she did seem innocent and there really was no evidence to prove she had done it.

Overall, I enjoyed it and was glad I picked it up and bought it even though it wasn’t on my list. I also was surprised to see she had written another book I loved. Boys, Bears and a Serious Pair of Hiking Boots was written by her as well under the name Abby McDonald. It’s a much lighter book as well (and a great beach read for the TTT post). I’m definitely looking forward to anymore young adult thrillers she writes as well as reading her other books.

4 thoughts on “Dangerous Girls by Abigail Haas

  1. Pingback: Dangerous Boys by Abigail Haas | Confessions of a Bookaholic

  2. I agree… this book was a total mind f*ck… I just finished reading it and I have no idea how to feel.. And you just reminded me how Eloise told Anna she wanted to die by knife and bleed all over the carpet… so apparently she gave her BFF her wish. Very morbid. I do think that Eloise was in love with Anna and mad that she had a seriously BF. She wanted to be the only one who knew Anna on such a personal level. So thats why she went after Tate to get back at her I believe. I don’t think she thought Anna would kill her though. But both characters seem to be very damaged.

  3. I agree… this book was a total mind f*ck… I just finished reading it and I have no idea how to feel.. And you just reminded me how Eloise told Anna she wanted to die by knife and bleed all over the carpet… so apparently she gave her BFF her wish. Very morbid. I do think that Eloise was in love with Anna and mad that she had a serious BF. She wanted to be the only one who knew Anna on such a personal level. So thats why she went after Tate to get back at her I believe. I don’t think she thought Anna would kill her though. But both characters seem to be very damaged.

    The writing though was fabulous. Abigail knew how to draw you in, leave clues and switch up the timeline.

    • You should check her other book out, Dangerous Boys. I thought Dangerous Girls was more of a mind fuck and unexpected but Dangerous Boys was amazing as well. Abigail Haas does an amazing job when it comes to young adult thrillers.

Leave a Reply

