Ten by Gretchen McNeil

I have viewed Ten a few times on Amazon, Goodreads and Barnes and Noble online, but I always overlooked it. When I went shopping last weekend, I saw there was only one copy left and figured I would check it out. I figured if I enjoyed watching horror movies, maybe I would enjoy a book similar to them and I definitely enjoyed Ten.

Ten by Gretchen McNeil

5stars

image

Meg and Minnie are best friends…best friends who have recieved an exclusive invitation to a weekend long house party on Henry Island. What starts off as a fun filled weekend with boys and booze turns sinister when the ten high schoolers find a dvd with the eerie message, vengence is mine, at the end of a very strange homemade video. Things only get worse when a raging storm comes through and they loose power and are now cut off to the world. Soon, one by one the teens are dying, with each death more gruesome than the last and it becomes clear these are no accidents. With no escape until the next morning and the teens turning on one another, will Meg be able to figure out who the killer is before someone else dies?

I fell in love with Ten after the first chapter. I could not put the book down. I literally sat in bed and read this book straight through. Ten is so original (and I know I say that quite often, but I don’t like typical, predictable books) and is unlike any book I have ever read and I will definitely be checking out more books like this in the future. Since I love horror and thriller movies, I figured that I should read some horror and thriller books. Ten was not originally on the list, and even though it is the first in those categories that I have read, I already know it is the best. I felt like I was reading a horror movie if that makes sense.  There were so many details to set the scene and the characters were so thoroughly described I felt like it painted a picture in my head. Although some characters proved to be more annoying than others, I really liked all the characters in Ten. During the suspenseful parts, my heart was actually pounding and I caught myself holding my breath. I loved that it had that effect on myself. Ten also had a good amount of surprising plot twists and made you think a lot of who the killer really is. It was more enjoyable and more original than 98% of Hollywood horror movies and I definitely think a studio (who can hire a very good director) should get the rights to create this book into a movie.

Ten can definitely be described as a page turner. If you enjoy thriller and mystery books or you enjoy watching horror and thriller movies, Ten is a book you will thoroughly enjoy reading. It brings the scare factor to a novel, which I had never expected to truely be possible.

One thought on “Ten by Gretchen McNeil

  1. Pingback: February Wrap Up..Two Days Late | Confessions Of A Bookaholic

Leave a Reply

