All the Truth That’s in Me by Julie Berry

All the Truth That’s in Me by Julie Berry

1star

AllTruthBook_zps45afb902

I really, really, REALLY wanted to love this book and was hoping that it was a bit scary as well. Well, I have a rule that before I can stop reading a book I am really not getting into, I have to at least read the first 50 pages and if I’m not sucked into the story by then, chances are I’m not going to be within the next 200 or so pages. I’m not sure what exactly was holding me back from really enjoying this book, but I have a few ideas. First, I thought we’d be given some insight on when Judith was abducted, but it lacked a lot of history. Second, almost right away do we find out who her abductor is even though we’re supposed to be left guessing throughout the book. Third, it was written in a really strange format. There weren’t exactly chapters but instead roman numerals for almost every new paragraph and I guess those were considered the “chapters”. Last, I thought this was taking place in present times and  I know one of my wishes on my top ten list last Tuesday was more YA books that tie into history, but this wasn’t exactly a specific event but just a made up one from what I understood. I might give it another go after I finish my other 40 some books that are waiting to be read and that way I won’t be anxious to finish it and start another book that I know I will be sucked into. If you read this book and enjoyed, please let me know and how long did it take you to get into it? Or if you did read it and didn’t like it, please tell me also. I almost brought this with me as one of my “book swap” books but decided against it.

*It was also a ARC book. I had bought it used on Amazon and didn’t know it was an ARC copy, and I’m not sure if that really makes a different or not..*

Leave a Reply

